Satoshi and empty dynasty deck

By Iuchi Toshimo, in L5R LCG: Rules Discussion

If, in the course of resolving Satoshi's ability, I run out of dynasty cards, then do I shuffle the discard and keep going until I find an imperial card?

The rules reference instructs me to refresh my dynasty deck only when the deck is empty and I am trying to fill a province.

Satoshi's ability creates a fill effect, but only after I have completed the effects of finding my imperial card.

I believe you would stop when you reach no more remaining cards in your dynasty deck.

Rules Reference pg 6: "When a non-targeting effect attempts to engage a number of entities (such as “search the top 10 cards of your conflict deck”) that exceeds the number of entities that currently exist in the specified game area, the effect engages as many entities as possible."

I would assume you reshuffle, lose 5 honor and keep going until you hit an Imperial card.

3 hours ago, Ishi Tonu said:

I would assume you reshuffle, lose 5 honor and keep going until you hit an Imperial card.

I'd go with @Horizonshard . You only reshuffle when you need to refill a province (or draw a card). Not when you're told to discard from your deck.

The other reason I think they might say it doesn't need to reshuffle and you end, is that this doesn't create an accidental infinite loop. Say you are running a low number of dynasty imperial cards, and they are all in play or in your provinces. Theoretically you could never hit one of the cards, and then you could theoretically just kill yourself by triggering this ability in this case. I don't think that would be an intentional design decision on their part.

That hasn't stopped their design process in the past, but I feel like that hasn't been in the spirit of the game that I've seen.

On 12/15/2017 at 11:49 AM, Ishi Tonu said:

I would assume you reshuffle, lose 5 honor and keep going until you hit an Imperial card.

Ishi Tonu is correct, you would lose 5 honor and shuffle your discard pile into your new deck and place it face down.

The rules state page 14 rules reference

" Running Out of Card s
If a player attempts to replace a card on a province from his or
her dynasty deck or draw a card from his or her conflict deck
and no cards remain in the deck , that player loses 5 honor, then
shuffles the corresponding discard pile and places it facedown
to form a new dynasty or conflict deck. That player then
continues to replace the dynasty card or draw the conflict card." - rules reference v11

Im going to lean on the excerpt after 'and' where it states 'no cards remain in the deck' as the triggered action of the rules, forcing you to immediately lose 5 honor and make a new deck face down.

But you're not replacing a card in a province, you're simply revealing cards. There's no mechanism telling you to reshuffle a new deck in this case, so you can't.

Actually, the official ruling is that you don't lose honor or reshuffle, for the reason @AradonTemplar gives: you are not refilling a province. source

Yeah, don't listen to me. I honestly don't know why I even post in the rules forum. I almost always get them wrong. lol.

Listen to Ishi and do the opposite. :P

36 minutes ago, BCumming said:

Listen to Ishi and do the opposite. :P

^ Yes! This, do this!

Wait does that mean I'm telling people to not do what I say, or by agreeing with your comment have I inadvertently told people to not, not do what I say..........so effectively do what I say..............oh man this is so confusing. :D

Hey Ishi, you and I gotta meet some day. I bet we’ll have loads of stupid ‘fun’ just hanging out! :D

On 1/3/2018 at 5:04 PM, Ishi Tonu said:

^ Yes! This, do this!

Wait does that mean I'm telling people to not do what I say, or by agreeing with your comment have I inadvertently told people to not, not do what I say..........so effectively do what I say..............oh man this is so confusing. :D

You just broke all of the robots and AIs reading this forum with your paradox.