Double Flight Controllers....why not?

By Kieran Rexer, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

So ... this came to my mind when I looked at the Warlord Fleet Builder screen where I was creating a list for a new CC campaign, specifically I wanted to test Sloane and the Quasar II .... by mistake I put two Flight Controllers on the same ship .... but looking back .... is not a bad idea!
My question is this, a ship equipped with two Flight Controllers that activates a squadron, gives two blue dice against the enemy squadrons? ... I'm right?

No. You can't put two of the same upgrade on one ship.

Yup, explicitly disallowed. Came up when people tried putting two tractor beams and two Expanded Hangar Bays on ISD1's.

Sad, but probably fortunate. :)

FAQ pg 4:

FLEET BUILDING, P.6

This entry should include the following bullet point:

“A ship cannot equip more than one copy of the same upgrade card.”

...... :lol: .....I was sleeping!! ... for a moment Warlord gave me the illusion ... sorry!

We need an Imperial officer that allows for 2+ of the same upgrade. Oh boy! And while we going crazy, allow multiple Modifications!

:) hmm....very good idea....maybe, could be a title card, it will limit the effect to a single ship type.
We need more title cards! :lol:

Still I don't have a clue on what happened to my mind last night....when I saw two FC on a single ship on the monitor, all my "knowledge" about Armada went out of the window.... :blink:

I have a flight controller on a Raider II and one on a Gladiator II. If I have both dials set to squadron during a round, would both +1 Blue dice also be eligible or am I potentially wasting a Weapons Team slot?

For example, could my IG-88 role 6 blue dice.

It think this example is different than the one above.

On 2/17/2018 at 7:13 PM, Rfrankum said:

I have a flight controller on a Raider II and one on a Gladiator II. If I have both dials set to squadron during a round, would both +1 Blue dice also be eligible or am I potentially wasting a Weapons Team slot?

For example, could my IG-88 role 6 blue dice.

It think this example is different than the one above.

No. You can't activate a squadron from two separate ships. Once you activate the squadron you change the tab and then the second ship couldn't activate it.

10 minutes ago, Formynder4 said:

No. You can't activate a squadron from two separate ships. Once you activate the squadron you change the tab and then the second ship couldn't activate it.

Unless your on the rebel side with adar tallon ;)

True, but that's still two separate activations.

2 minutes ago, DrakonLord said:

Unless your on the rebel side with adar tallon ;)

But since the bonus only lasts until the end of the activation, irrelevantly so.

2 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

But since the bonus only lasts until the end of the activation, irrelevantly so.

But i wasnt talking about the bonus so your post is irrelevant :P

@Formynder4 < umm i cant get rid of this, woops, stupid phone

On 2/17/2018 at 4:13 PM, Rfrankum said:

I have a flight controller on a Raider II and one on a Gladiator II. If I have both dials set to squadron during a round, would both +1 Blue dice also be eligible or am I potentially wasting a Weapons Team slot?

For example, could my IG-88 role 6 blue dice.

It think this example is different than the one above.

I suspect there is a deeper misunderstanding in play here--feel free to disregard this whole post if not.

First, the card:

Armada_-_Flight_Controllers.jpg

Keep in mind that "you" refers to the ship that the upgrade card is equipped to (RRG pg 13 UPGRADE CARDS, 7th bullet). So Flight Controllers does not apply to every squadron that you (the player) activate during that round, it applies only to squadrons

-activated by the ship with Flight Controllers
-until the end of that squadron's activation.

It sounds like you're describing applying the effects of the Raider's FC to the squadrons that the Gladiator is activating, and vice versa, and asking if they stack. Because the upgrade on one ship doesn't apply to squadrons activated by the other, this is a non-issue here.

Also, if you've been playing with this misinterpretation here, there's a good chance you're playing a lot of cards incorrectly, because that "you" wording shows up a lot. May be worth double-checking the text on your cards as you're putting lists together to make sure!

Ok...all this is my fault! I apologize, probably the night I was doing that list I was drunk! :lol:

It will not happen again! I promise. ;)

2 hours ago, Kieran Rexer said:

I was doing that list I was drunk! :lol:

It will not happen again! I promise. ;)

Make promises that you cant keep, do not young one*

\ naff Yoda voice impression

*because everyone is a young one to Yoda......