New Player - Couple Rules Questions

By Xiara2, in Talisman Rules Questions

Picked up Talisman and played first game with a buddy of mine tonight. What a fantastic game, we are going to implement the reaper expansion next game when we have more players! We did run into a couple rules we had questions about, any help would be appreciated!

I apologize if these questions have been asked, skimmed through 20 pages of forum for other answers! =p

1) We had an epic battle at the CoC - Minstrel vs. Warrior. Question about the Runesword...should my Minstrel have gained 1 life after every battle win or only after the Warrior was completely killed off?

2) Psionic Blast Spell - It states to add your Craft value to Strength value. Is the craft/strength values my base + objects + followers+ cones?

3) Do discarded objects count towards the total on a draw a card space?

I answered my own question for #3. If I land on a Draw 1 card space and I pick up an object that is already there...do I then get to draw a card?

Xiara said:

1) We had an epic battle at the CoC - Minstrel vs. Warrior. Question about the Runesword...should my Minstrel have gained 1 life after every battle win or only after the Warrior was completely killed off?

2) Psionic Blast Spell - It states to add your Craft value to Strength value. Is the craft/strength values my base + objects + followers+ cones?

3) Do discarded objects count towards the total on a draw a card space?

#1: Each time you take a Life in battle using the Runesword, you gain a Life. If the other char manages to prevent the loss by Spell or Armour, then don't gain. Also, Minstrel starts off as Good, so unless he changed alignment during the game, he can't even have the Runesword.

#2: "A character’s Craft can never below that character’s Craft
value (i.e., the number printed on the character card)." (p. 5)

Same goes for Strength value.

#3: If you land on a draw 1 space and ditch a card there, you no longer would draw a card. Note that you can't pick up the ditched card this turn, have to go away and come back to take the card.

For you follow-up post, if you land on a draw 1 card space with say a Sword on it, the Sword counts against the draw 1, so you don't draw a card. If you encounter the space (no character there to encounter for example), you can either pick up the Sword or not, regardless, you don't draw.

Aye, very first card draw of the game Mephistopheles turned me evil, lol.