Does rogue smuggler affect figure cost

By brettpkelly, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Do skirmish upgrades with negative values affect figure cost? I assume no but I wanted to make sure. If I put Motivation on Jedi Luke I assume I can't use it to remove a condition from Han with rogue smuggler.

As far as I know, no. The attachments are simply scored at the same time as the last figure in the group is defeated, reducing the VP gained.

Edited by a1bert

Which means that "Change of Plans" would work with Han on Luke, but Luke can't use it to exhaust Han.

FAQ 2.3

Q: Does an "Attachment" Skirmish Upgrade card change the
deployment cost of the Deployment card to which it is attached?

A: No. The attachment is simply scored simultaneously when the
group to which it is attached is defeated. Any effects that refer
to a group's deployment cost do not take the cost of an attached
Skirmish Upgrade into account.

19 hours ago, TheWelcomeMat88 said:

Which means that "Change of Plans" would work with Han on Luke, but Luke can't use it to exhaust Han.

Wouldn't this mean that either of them could use it on each other since they have the same deployment cost?

Depends on the Luke. :D

Lol sorry, yes Jedi Luke and Han could, but not HOTR Luke.

question along the same thread. lets say that you have new chewie and you use hera to "evacuate" chewie. Would the opponent receive 5vp (11/2 rounded down) or 3 vp (15/2 rounded down -4) ?

"half of what he would normally gain" (figure and attachment), so it's (15-4)/2 rounded down.

I accidently deleted all the FFG emails I had, but one of them was I asked if you could squad swarm a couple of rebel sabs w/ targeting computers and the response was yes. The upgrade isn't added to the cost of the card it's attached too, it has its own cost.

Every time you read deployment/figure cost you must look at the cost reported by the deployment card. Any attachment does not change deployment/figure cost of the card it is attached to. Simple reason is that there's no rule that tells you to modify such cost.

This is also the reason why you can't make an all-in-one fixed deployment card for Vader, han and others. I saw many unofficial fixed deployment cards for Chewie reporting 11 as a deployment cost. That's very wrong. In example Chewie is the primary target (see command card) even if the list includes Jedi Luke!

Edited by Golan Trevize