Influence on Title cards

By barkmann2, in Runewars

We played our first game yesterday.

I'm I missing something? The only time we can put influence on a title card is at the time we claim it?

I had the objective card ''Political Control'' and it says on the card that if I have 2 Title Cards with at least 6 total influence on them, I may discard the Objective card to gain 1 dragon rune.

During our last game we went into this situation: I had the three title cards, with 1 influence token on two of them and 3 on the other. In fact, I had 5 influence token total and the 3 title cars but it was not enough to complete the objective. Nobody claim any of the title cards I had so I was in a dead end with this objective. I assume if we played correctly, we must claim a card and make sure to put enough influence on it to claim it and be able to complete this Objective card.

Thank you,

Louis-David

You can't put influence on it unless you are buying it. But I don't think there's any reason you could not buy it from yourself for more influence than is already on it in order to claim the objective.

i think you could do the Gain Power order again, and "reclaim" your title and put more influence on it. Not sure if this is legal... havent looked at the exact wording of the order to see if you could only claim a title that you dont already own.

Of course... why did you claim all three titles in such a way as to NOT complete your objective.

I just looked at the order and its description on pg. 36 of the rulebook. It doesn't say anything about having to purchase it from another player. You could absolutely buy it from yourself with Acquire Power.

I definitely agree with broken. You can certainly buy it from yourself. The rules just talk about paying more than what's on it, and then claiming it. It doesn't matter if you are claiming it from yourself, another player, or the bank.

Note, though, that you have to buy it by paying MORE influence than you already have. IE, if you have 3 influence, you can't just use Acquire Power to put one more on it with 1 influence; you'd have to spend 4+ influence to increase the influence on the Title.

Thank you guys for your answers!

Buying the card from ourselves by paying more influence that are actually on it seems the way to play but remember you need to get the Bonus action to perform this!

I sincerly think that a different wording in the rules is required here since we need to read between the lines to figure out buying the card from ourselves is acceptable.