app: Imperial action priority and LOS restrictions on abilities

By ricope, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

1. If an Imperial figure says something like

"Move 3 to attack Mak"

"Move 4 to engage Mak"

does the 1st line only gets triggered only if the Imp can actually attack Mak after moving 3? In order words, would it be correct to skip the 1st line and go directly to "Move 4 to engage Mak" if Mak cannot be attacked even after moving 3?

2. For regular Imperial Officers "Order" got changed to "Executive Order", but it does not have any restrictions on LOS or "within X spaces". So can that officer just Exec Order any Imp on the map? So even if Vader is all the way across the map that little 2pt rIO can ExecOrder him to attack? That's kind of OP since rIO is now the equiv of Palp + Palp's signature card

Unlimited Power

1. In your example, the first instruction is not skipped. The figure will simply follow target priority if it cannot attack the designated hero (Mak).

Page 15 of the LotA Rulebook:

Quote

If no target satisfies the criteria or if no criteria was given, the Imperial figure targets the closest Rebel figure.

2. The order action in the app is limited by a figure cost (3 for regular officers, 6 for elite officers - not sure if these values change)

Edited by Armandhammer
4 hours ago, Armandhammer said:

1. In your example, the first instruction is not skipped. The figure will simply follow target priority if it cannot attack the designated hero (Mak).

So what happen if the Imp can't attack anyone even after moving 3 spaces following #1? In other words, what happens if there's no "closest Rebel figure"?

Does the Imp figure still go for the closest one possible (even though it might not be Mak)? I think that's more like an Engage

On page 16 in the lota rule book it says: If the figure cannot move to a space where it can attack the target, it attempts the instruction with the next best target, following target priority. If it cannot move to attack any target, it skips this instruction

So it's supposed to be skipped. Same for the "Move 4 to engage Mak" instruction. You have to skip it if cannot engage to a valid target (page 15)

8 hours ago, ricope said:

So what happen if the Imp can't attack anyone even after moving 3 spaces following #1? In other words, what happens if there's no "closest Rebel figure"?

Does the Imp figure still go for the closest one possible (even though it might not be Mak)? I think that's more like an Engage

Step 1. Determine if the figure can attack Mak

Step 2. If it has been determined that the figure cannot move to a position to attack Mak, target priority will trigger:

Step 3. The figure will move to attack a figure that best satisfies the criteria. Since the instruction is targeting a specific hero, there are no alternative figures to attack (you could implement a house rule at this point and simply pick another hero that would be worth attacking)

Step 4. The figure will move to attack the closest Rebel Figure.

Step 5. If it has been determined that the figure cannot attack the closest rebel figure, the instruction is skipped . Move on to the next instruction.

Ultimately, the imperial figure will want to attack something if it’s able to do so.

It’s also important to emphasize that you never partially fulfill an instruction. In other words, you don’t move the figure and then attempt to attack Mak/follow target priority.

This all sounds straightforward, and thank you.