Lol Chimaera

By Ardaedhel, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

How many points do you get for killing Chimera if it deployed with IF, then discarded it for STM?

Edit: If you previously discarded a given Fleet Command upgrade, can you later re-equip one of the same name? All current FC upgrades are unique, but it is unclear whether the uniqueness check for a card accounts for discarded upgrades.

swm29-chimaera.png

swm29-intensify-firepower.png

Edited by Ardaedhel

No more than + 36 if you started with IFF and discard it for IFF each round :D

Not even the most obvious question - can you use the title to equip a card that was previously discarded? IE., Entrapment Formation -> Intensify Firepower -> Entrapment Formation?

10 points because you scored 10-1.

1 minute ago, xanderf said:

Not even the most obvious question - can you use the title to equip a card that was previously discarded? IE., Entrapment Formation -> Intensify Firepower -> Entrapment Formation?

Well they arent unique so I dont see why not.

1 minute ago, Ginkapo said:

Well they arent unique so I dont see why not.

Yes the are.

1 minute ago, Ginkapo said:

Well they arent unique so I dont see why not.

They are all unique.

But according to the RRG (pg 13):

"A fleet cannot contain more than one card with the same unique name, even if those cards are of different types."

...not sure how that would apply to discarding and/or equipping upgrades that are not in the fleet.

I think they get points for each one you have equipped over the course of the game.

RRG 13 UPGRADE CARDS:

"If a ship’s upgrade card is discarded, it is flipped facedown but remains equipped for the purposes of scoring."

Just now, Ardaedhel said:

I think they get points for each one you have equipped over the course of the game.

RRG 13 UPGRADE CARDS:

"If a ship’s upgrade card is discarded, it is flipped facedown but remains equipped for the purposes of scoring."

This seems the most likely.

As for uniqueness checks, those only happen during fleet buildOH MY GOD YOU CAN DOUBLE UP ON FLEET COMMANDS WITH CHIMERA.

Edit: jk no you can't, was thinking of something else.

Edited by Ardaedhel
1 minute ago, Undeadguy said:

Yes the are.

Good. So they are.

Well then no, because you discarded the only copy.

1 minute ago, Ardaedhel said:

I think they get points for each one you have equipped over the course of the game.

RRG 13 UPGRADE CARDS:

"If a ship’s upgrade card is discarded, it is flipped facedown but remains equipped for the purposes of scoring."

How many points are equipped at the start? Do you need to pay for multiple? JJ didnt, but its an ffg article so cant be trusted.

Nonetheless, uniqueness applicability is indeterminate. The card is unique, but discarded, and it's only specified to be still equipped for purposes of scoring .

If you discard a fleet command to trigger its effect, I suppose you can't use Chimaera anymore.

Just now, Undeadguy said:

If you discard a fleet command to trigger its effect, I suppose you can't use Chimaera anymore.

Yeah, sounds like it.

Just now, Ardaedhel said:

Nonetheless, uniqueness applicability is indeterminate. The card is unique, but discarded, and it's only specified to be still equipped for purposes of scoring .

Still, I think that answers the OP question. It sounds like the ship is scored for the total of all upgrade cards it equips via this method over the course of the game.

The only trick is whether it can re-equip a discarded upgrade or not, and how that is treated (is it counted twice, or just once, since it will only ever be sitting one copy by the ship card...face-up or face-down).

Makes it an interesting trade-off: you can keep charging up your commands, but if you lose the ship you'll pay for it.

I mean it's not a huge amount of points but it could add up.

I'm not worried about scoring. But what if your fleet is at 400 points when you do the Chimaera swap. That would make your fleet worth more than 400 points. Is that ok? Would this be a way to sneak an extra couple points into your fleet? In other words, just equip the cheapest fleet upgrade and you can then discard it and put in the most expensive (if you want).

2 minutes ago, Undeadguy said:

If you discard a fleet command to trigger its effect, I suppose you can't use Chimaera anymore.

Huh. Didn't even think of that application of it. Heh - have never actually used a fleet command card that way, so I completely forgot they could do that!

Yeah, that does seem a strike against the idea of re-equipping discarded fleet command cards. If you could re-equip cards discarded by the title, then nothing would seem to stop you from re-equipping cards discarded by their own text.

Which would make the title... EXTREMELY powerful for 4 pts.

I think the scoring is straightforward : score points for them all.

pretty sure unique will apply, too... but that will need a mention.

I am wondering about "replace it" wording.

Equip it in the appropriate upgrade slot.

The "replace" is a new term and maybe settles some questions. Needs a faq. If the replaced card is out of the game it can be reused by chimera (I read it like this). The card to be replaced has to be exhausted so it cant be exhausted instead of a token to get the fleet command effect.

Similarly for scoring. Likely no adding up of cycled fleet commands, since they have been "replaced". So the first or last is counted. Differs by 1 point.

5 minutes ago, Xeletor said:

The "replace" is a new term and maybe settles some questions. Needs a faq. If the replaced card is out of the game it can be reused by chimera (I read it like this). The card to be replaced has to be exhausted so it cant be exhausted instead of a token to get the fleet command effect.

Similarly for scoring. Likely no adding up of cycled fleet commands, since they have been "replaced". So the first or last is counted. Differs by 1 point.

No. You DISCARD the card to be replaced, you don't exhaust it. Since "replace" isn't a game term, we have to refer to its denotation. Replace means that it fits into the Fleet Command upgrade slot instead of the old command. But to do this, you first must discard the original upgrade.

So. We discard the original upgrade. The rules tell us that to do that you turn it face down. Presumably you keep it next to the ship card when you do this, because if the ship is destroyed the discarded upgrade card counts toward the opponent's point total.

The two questions then are: 1) Is this discarded card still contained within the fleet? ("contain" is the word used in the rules governing unique cards) 2) Does the discarded upgrade count for scoring? This one is pretty clear. The rules say definitively that discarded upgrades count for scoring purposes.

The first question is still open, I think.

This is not the first time we have had “replace” as a potential thing.

The first time was the preview of Sato.

That one changed before release.

Edited by Drasnighta

Looking forward to the wave 7 FAQ...... 8 months after release.. :)