Does Gideon's Fearless Leader reward reduce the cost of Echo Base Troopers?

By Rimpy, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

We're playing the Return to Hoth campaign. Gideon is one of the Rebel heroes. The Rebels won the Echo Base Trooper as an ally. They also won Gideon's side mission so they have his reward, Fearless Leader. The Rebels think that Fearless Leader ("When you deploy a Rebel Trooper, reduce the deployment cost by 2") should apply to the Echo Base Trooper too. I'm thinking this reward only applies to a specific ally, Rebel Trooper, which the Rebels also win as part of this side mission.

This skill is similar to Endless Ranks from the Military Might deck. I noticed that Endless Ranks references "Trooper" in a different font. In that case, it applies to "Trooper" as a class, so it applies to Stormtroopers, Snowtroopers, Jet Troopers, etc.

FearlessLeader.jpg EndlessRanks.jpg

Edited by Rimpy

It is similar but different than Endless Ranks.

Fearless Leader refers to "Rebel Trooper" (sub)name, not a Trooper Trait. It does not apply to Echo Base Trooper, because the name is not "Rebel Trooper".

Fearless Leader applies to both regular and elite Rebel Trooper groups though, if the rebels have won them twice or you house-rule.

rebel-trooper.png

Fearless Leader applies to both regular and elite Rebel Trooper group if you have won them twice (or house-rule).

· Elite Deployment cards share the same name as regular
Deployment cards. When a figure is called out by name (for
example, "Stormtrooper"), this refers to both regular and elite
versions of this figure.

Edited by a1bert
15 hours ago, a1bert said:

· Elite Deployment cards share the same name as regular
Deployment cards. When a figure is called out by name (for
example, "Stormtrooper"), this refers to both regular and elite
versions of this figure.

So, I think I done goofed, when playing the intro-mission for HotE, "Dark Recon"...

The last part of the mission states, that the cantina is cleared when there are no Riot Troopers og eImperial Officers on the Cantina tile. The mission rules state that the IP can't deploy or reinforce these figures, but there is another rImperial Officer in the mission. Could I just have kept deploying that figure, keeping the Cantina "not cleared" while he's on the tile?

Edited by GyldenDamgaard

I don't think you messed Dark Recon:

The mission rule refers to Imperial Officer specifically (by giving it in red), not just Imperial Officer in general, and there is no other Riot Trooper group in the mission and no open groups (so you cannot deploy more of them).

It would be more explicit if the Imperial Officer were named, and the name used in the later rule, but the color should be a enough. As you see, there is no text space left.

Edited by a1bert
36 minutes ago, a1bert said:

I don't think you messed Dark Recon:

The mission rule refers to Imperial Officer specifically (by giving it in red), not just Imperial Officer in general, and there is no other Riot Trooper group in the mission and no open groups (so you cannot deploy more of them).

It would be more explicit if the Imperial Officer were named, and the name used in the later rule, but the color should be a enough. As you see, there is no text space left.

So, referring to a name by just mentioning the regular deployment card refers to both regular and elite versions, whereas referring specifically to the elite version intentionally leaves out the regular version. Ok. Gotcha. Thanks.