LotA - Move to engage

By Trevize84, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

With reference to page 15 and section "Move X to Engage", we read that units move X to an adjacent space and then attack. We also read that if the unit can't get adjacent it has to choose the next best target.

The example in the blue box shows us 2 Imperial Guards. They have reach and from what I read it looks fine to me that they MUST move adjacent to the target before engaging it. In the example this behavior brings the second guard to a skipped attack. Now, anyone with a working brain would have used only 1 movement point with the first guard so that it could get to reach range and also leave free line of sight to the second guard.

Questions are:
- Is the use of Imperial Guard meaningful? In other words, does it takes into account reach or the writer just forgot that detail?
- Should the app command the action "Move X and Attack" (like it does for ranged units) rather than "Move X and Engage" when it refers melee units with reach range?

Thanks for the aswers!

AFAIK, Engage does not contain an attack. It's a figure-hugging term, allowing Royal Guards to Sentinel other figures and provide other adjacency-bonuses.

Thanks @a1bert . I just realised that there's no attack stated on the rules book at the end of the movement.

What would be then the difference with "Move X Toward"?

Is correct to say that "toward" means "as closer as possible to that specific target" instead "engage" means "adjacent to the target or any other viable alternatives"?

Edited by Golan Trevize

I'm pretty sure that if a figure cannot Engage (end adjacent to), it will skip the instruction and check the next one.

Yes. If no target cannot be Engaged, then the instruction is skipped.

Edited by a1bert
Just now, a1bert said:

I'm pretty sure that if a figure cannot Engage (end adjacent to), it will skip the instruction and check the next one.

The skip applies only if there is no other viable rebel target, right?

Depends on the Target. The specified target doesn't have to be a Rebel figure. Instructions can ask Imperial figures to Engage other imperial figures, so the targeting priority needs to choose between whatever is eligible for that instruction (and skip if there are none).

Got it. Thanks for clarifying!