Surge question

By Green Squadron Pilot, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

I will try and make this simple but I/we couldn't find it quickly in the rules last night.

Player A rolls 3 hits and a surge. He spends the surge (in what I think is Step 5) and ends with 4 hits and Weaken .

Player B rolls 4 dodges/cancelled hits. (I know. Chewie, right?)

Q1. Does Chewie end up Weaken ed? Or does he not suffer anything at all?

The discussion hinges around whether a figure must take at least one hit to suffer Weaken, Bleed, Stun , etc. We stopped the clock but didn't want to pause the game too long because a) it was a fun game and b) the beers were getting warm.

Thanks in advance

You must deal damage in order to apply conditions via keyword abilities (Weaken, Focus, Stun, Bleed).

So if the attacker has 3 damage and the defender has 4 blocks, it is impossible to apply Weaken via a Weaken surge.

You should make sure to use the correct terminology so you don't get confused.

Attack dice have Damage and Surges.
Defense dice have Blocks, Evades (cancels surges), and Dodge (complete miss of the attack).

Many thanks. We couldn't find that clarification in the rules. I'll make a note.

Only Blast, Cleave, and condition keywords (Focus, Hide, Bleed, Stun, Weaken) require that the target suffers damage during the attack (step 7) to be performed / applied.

If an ability gives the conditions themselves (focused, hidden, bleeding, stunned, weakened) directly, the target doesn't need to suffer damage (unless explicitly required). Neither does any surge ability need that the target suffered damage unless explicitly specified.

See Special Situations regarding attacks, page 6 of RRG.

On 11/20/2017 at 1:10 PM, a1bert said:

See Special Situations regarding attacks, page 6 of RRG.

perfecter. thx