1) Rule Question:
Ok, retreat is a pretty clear. But what happens, if extra retreating units have two possibilities to retreat - one friendly area with 8 units and an empty area without units.
Must retreating units retreat to friendly area (and be destroyed) or can retreat to empty area (and be "only" routed but alive)?
The rulebook suggests that you must first retreat to a friendly hex if available, and if not, then you can retreat to an empty hex. But it seems strange to be punished for having a friendly adjacent hex full of units, and rewards for only having an adjacent empty hex to retreat to
ANSWER: The retreating units must always move into a friendly area if able. In your example, this would require you to exceed the limit of 8 units and be required to destroy some.
2) Rule Question:
There are a few tactics cards that force neutrals to retreat from a hex, even if they are allied with an opponent.
What happens in this situation.
I control three adjacent hexes.
One is a kingdom hex that I control but have no units in.
One is a hex with 5 of my units (humans)
One is a hex with 1 human units (mine) and 1 GIANT that is allied with me. There rest of the adjacent hexes are enemy controlled
My opponent plays a tactics card on my GIANT , forcing it to retreat. Card states if it cant retreat to an empty or uncontrolled hex, it is destroyed. What options do I have?
Can the GIANT retreat into my unoccupied kingdom hex? I assume not?
Can the giant retreat into my other occupied hex so that it stays my ally? or must it be destroyed?
ANSWER: In your example, the neutral units cannot retreat (due to all adjacent areas being controlled) and are destroyed.
3) Rule Question:
In regards to that tactic card lightning which does 4 damage at the start of combat.
Must that damage be applied to standing units before routed units?
ANSWER: Yes, the damage must be assigned to standing units if able .
.