Attacking object under a large figure

By DeeSnyder, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi, we had a situation last night, we recheck the rules and saw this :

• If a figure is in the same space as the token, the figure and
token are targeted for attacks independently. Neither the figure
nor the token block line of sight to the other.

So if I read well, if a nexu or any other large figure sit on a attackable object, he cannot block LOS to it.

Se exemple:

[_][_][_][_][_]
[_][_][H][_][_]
[_] [_] [_] [_] [_]
[_][_][_][N][N]
[ _ ][_][_][N][No]

Powered by Fizzgrid™ Technology

H: Han Solo
N: Nexu
No: Nexu and terminal

So in this exemple Han may attack the terminal rigth?

Each space the large figure occupies are considered separately. The three spaces of the Nexu block line of sight (there is only a figure on that space, not an object), while the corner one doesn't (figure doesn't block line of sight to an object in the same space).

Han doesn't have line of sight to O.

Edited by a1bert

Thank for your fast answer but, the thing I can get my head around...

On 31/10/2017 at 5:28 PM, a1bert said:

Each space the large figure occupies are considered separately.

I don't see why or where in the rules... it's all the same figure no? I know we target each space of a large figure independently but,

In my understanding, the nexu (the figure) would respect the condition "in the same space" so rest of the figure should apply the "don't block line of side". It's the second part of the rule that bug me.

• If a figure is in the same space as the token, the figure and
token are targeted for attacks independently. Neither the figure
nor the token block line of sight to the other.

Wouldn't be necessary to repeat "for this space" in the last sentense? I'm I playing to mutch with words?

Regards

Note that the attack rules are written for non-Large figures. How the attack rules change for Large figures is found elsewhere.

• If a figure is in the same space as the token, the figure and
token are targeted for attacks independently. Neither the figure
nor the token block line of sight to the other.

A large figure does not fit into the same space as a token, so you can't use that to justify an interpretation for large figures.

Admittedly, the rule for objects in the same space is not redefined for large figures explicitly, but it would be strange if you need to target a space the large figure occupies, but can ignore a whole non-target figure when drawing line of sight to an object in just one of its spaces. (In addition, it's not thematic.)

Thanks, it sure wouldn't be thematic, but mabe it could help to prevent some abuse like pilling nexu cats over an objective, I don't know.

In fact I was on your side but my question was more about me not able to tell someone that the large figure hide the object.

I'm always a fanboy of your professionalism on the rules.

The problem with using a Nexu for blocking is that while it is a bit more resilient than some other figures due to Cunning and the possibility of a dodge, it is still just one figure. Take it out and you have instant access to the object.