Casting and miscasting

By munchkin3, in WFRP Rules Questions

Ok, two simple questions that I'm pretty sure I know the answer to.

If a mage wants to cast a spell which costs less than his/her wp they don't have to channel power they can just cast the spell. Does this count as a quick cast?In other words, does a mage always have to channel regardless, is it part of the spell casting ritual? At the moment I'm playing that if they have the power they can cast the spell without channeling and it doesn't count as a quick cast.

If a spell casting check succeeds but generates a miscast does the spell still go off as intended?

I told you they were simple questions.

Munchkin said:

Ok, two simple questions that I'm pretty sure I know the answer to.

If a mage wants to cast a spell which costs less than his/her wp they don't have to channel power they can just cast the spell. Does this count as a quick cast?In other words, does a mage always have to channel regardless, is it part of the spell casting ritual? At the moment I'm playing that if they have the power they can cast the spell without channeling and it doesn't count as a quick cast.

If a spell casting check succeeds but generates a miscast does the spell still go off as intended?

I told you they were simple questions.

It doesn't count as a quick cast. Quick cast is only when you channel first in the same action window.

The spell still goes off as intended.

Munchkin said:

Ok, two simple questions that I'm pretty sure I know the answer to.

If a mage wants to cast a spell which costs less than his/her wp they don't have to channel power they can just cast the spell. Does this count as a quick cast?In other words, does a mage always have to channel regardless, is it part of the spell casting ritual? At the moment I'm playing that if they have the power they can cast the spell without channeling and it doesn't count as a quick cast.

If a spell casting check succeeds but generates a miscast does the spell still go off as intended?

I told you they were simple questions.

If a mage wants to cast a spell which costs less than his/her current power they don't have to channel power they can just cast the spell. Does this count as a quick cast?

Sorry I just had to fix the question above. It depends on how much power you have, not WP stat, and you can be in a situation where you power is less than you WP.