Weird wording on HotE cards.

By DKNecrosis, in Star Wars: Imperial Assault

Some members from Boardwars, and me have noticed some wordings on the new cards, that seems to be errors. Nothing gamebreaking, but I think it would be good to make FFG aware.

Drokattas Demolish in campaign: since there’s no trigger, and its only restriction is “limited to once per activation”. It technically could be used, at every heroes activation. I’m sure it was supposed to read “during your activation”.

Jax Supporting fire: since there’s no, you may. You’re technically forced to use it, first time possible, even if you’d like to save it for another attack.

Palpatines temp: again there’s no you may. This might not be an error, but seems odd to me that you HAVE to use it, everytime it’s possible.

1 hour ago, DKNecrosis said:

Some members from Boardwars, and me have noticed some wordings on the new cards, that seems to be errors. Nothing gamebreaking, but I think it would be good to make FFG aware.

Drokattas Demolish in campaign: since there’s no trigger, and its only restriction is “limited to once per activation”. It technically could be used, at every heroes activation. I’m sure it was supposed to read “during your activation”.

Jax Supporting fire: since there’s no, you may. You’re technically forced to use it, first time possible, even if you’d like to save it for another attack.

Palpatines temp: again there’s no you may. This might not be an error, but seems odd to me that you HAVE to use it, everytime it’s possible.

Drokatta: this has been brought up before and no one really argued against it. It could technically be used on any activation, even Imperial, the way it’s worded. But for two strain it’s hard to get a large number of uses in a round.

Jax: Well you might be able to argue that “once per activation” qualifies as a cost which would make it optional, but that’s a good catch. I’d be interested in a ruling in this.

Emperor’s Tempt: This has also come up before. The consensus so far is that this is mandatory. In fact I don’t recall it being questioned. It’s what makes the ability interesting ?.

In my opinion, even if Jax's Supporting Fire would be mandatory on the first eligible attack each activation, it would work just fine.

I would think it pretty rare that you could not attack in a different order or that having the Pierce 1 in the first attack would not make a second attack easier even if it were against a different target.

Tempt is pretty thematic as a mandatory ability. (Edit: it is always possible to use Tempt at the start of Palpatine's activation.)

I have not heard of how Demolish works in an actual campaign as worded now. Due to the strain cost it may not be too good after all, and "Once during your activation" could make it too bad. (Edit: and Demolish is not limited to once per rebel activation, provided the strain cost can be suffered, once per imperial activation is just as valid.)

Edited by a1bert

Ugh, I wish I didn’t read this thread haha.

Seriously though, good catches on Supporting Fire and Demolish .

Especially Demolish …wow.

Being able to use Demolish during any activation is technically how it's worded, and it might actually be the intent. Thematically it might even make sense (you can set an explosive charge and trigger it later), but anything that lets you interrupt another activation at an arbitrary point is just annoying. In this case, you can kill units at 1 health (or 2 with Thermal Explosives) as soon as they get close enough, and you can interfere with enemy movement by dropping a rubble token. It might not end up making that much of a difference, but it would be nice to get an official ruling on it.

I am pretty sure Demolish being used on other activations is intentional, but there are some nit-picky issues regarding timing if you wanted to use it during an imperial activation.

But as was said, 2 strain makes it hard to spam.

Edited by Deadwolf

@Stompburger @Deadwolf you might be right. But as you also point out, it seems like it should be elaborated. Especially since there’s no specific trigger, nor the wording interrupt.

45 minutes ago, DKNecrosis said:

Especially since there’s no specific trigger, nor the wording interrupt.

I agree with you point but “Interrupt” isn’t relavent to whose activation it is, friendly or hostile.

As for Jax's droid's Supporting Fire , I'll also rule it as mandatory on the first attack. There may be some cases where a weak figure is blocking LOS to a stronger figure that are both eligible for Supporting Fire . More of a corner case, but if I get complaints, thematically, I'll rule that the droid is simply trying to help and automatically fires on the first attack, as it was programmed to do.

On 10/28/2017 at 11:10 PM, Uninvited Guest said:

Drokatta: this has been brought up before and no one really argued against it. It could technically be used on any activation, even Imperial, the way it’s worded. But for two strain it’s hard to get a large number of uses in a round.

Wow, so if you really wanted to exploit this, you could get by my count at least 10 uses of demolish through a combination of Rebel turn order, ally activations, resting, recovering strain on attack, bacta pump, adrenal stims, and artificial stimulant. Throw in some ally hero's that also help recover strain (MHD, Gideon, Murne). Of course, the Imperial player would need the extra activations to support the addional usages... not really feasible in most games, but certainly not impossible, and completely reasonable to get 2-3 uses every round with it.

How would the timing on that work precisely if it were an Imperial activation? Activations don't really have phases like some other games, so there isn't really a window for the Rebels to activate an ability unless it specifies a timing window. Example:

Drokatta on his turn drops a dangerous Imperial unit to 1health after using Demolish and both of his actions. The Imperial player activates this unit (for drama's sake, let's say it rolls 3 dice attack, and it is currently focused... ouch) and chooses to use an attack action. At the same time Drokatta wants to use Demolish again. Demolish of course would defeat the unit... but does it happen before the attack action? Is it down to whichever player speaks up first? Demolish doesn't interrupt, so once the attack action is declared, is Drokatta restricted from using the abillity until after the attack resolves? Or because strain abilities can be used at any time, could Drokatta use demolish mid attack (say after dice roll, before spending surges) to instantly defeat the imperial unit and effectively cancelling the attack? If it's ruled that the Imperial can resolve his action before the ability triggers... what is preventing the Imperial from also activating his second action (again, there are no phases/windows of an activation)?

I think the best option is to restrict Demolish to once per Rebel activation, but even then we still have the same questions about how it's timing works during the middle of an attack action (though I can't currently think of a scenario that would matter for using it during a rebel attack).

Edited by Methantilus
spelling/grammar
17 minutes ago, Methantilus said:

Wow, so if you really wanted to exploit this, you could get by my count at least 10 uses of demolish through a combination of Rebel turn order, ally activations, resting, recovering strain on attack, bacta pump, adrenal stims, and artificial stimulant. Through in some ally hero's that also help recover strain (MHD, Gideon, Murne). Of course, the Imperial player would need the extra activations to support the addional usages... not really feasible in most games, but certainly not impossible, and completely reasonable to get 2-3 uses every round with it.

How would the timing on that work precisely if it were an Imperial activation? Activations don't really have phases like some other games, so there isn't really a window for the Rebels to activate an ability unless it specifies a timing window. Example:

Drokatta on his turn drops a dangerous Imperial unit to 1health after using Demolish and both of his actions. The Imperial player activates this unit (for drama's sake, let's say it rolls 3 dice attack, and it is currently focused... ouch) and chooses to use an attack action. At the same time Drokatta wants to use Demolish again. Demolish of course would defeat the unit... but does it happen before the attack action? Is it down to whichever player speaks up first? Demolish doesn't interrupt, so once the attack action is declared, is Drokatta restricted from using the abillity until after the attack resolves? Or because strain abilities can be used at any time, could Drokatta use demolish mid attack (say after dice roll, before spending surges) to instantly defeat the imperial unit and effectively cancelling the attack? If it's ruled that the Imperial can resolve his action before the ability triggers... what is preventing the Imperial from also activating his second action (again, there are no phases/windows of an activation)?

I think the best option is to restrict Demolish to once per Rebel activation, but even then we still have the same questions about how it's timing works during the middle of an attack action (though I can't currently think of a scenario that would matter for using it during a rebel attack).

That’s why it seems to be worded incorrectly. Since there’s no specific timing n

All figure activations do have "phases".

- Start of activation
- During an activation
- Action 1
- During an activation
- Action 2
- During an activation
- End of activation

Demolish doesn't explicitly have "during an activation" specifier, but "limit once per activation" might be considered to include it.

On a BGG thread I suggested this:

Demolish said:

2 C : Once during any activation, choose a space within 3 spaces. Each figure and object on or adjacent to that space suffers 1 H . Place a rubble token on the chosen space.

Edited by a1bert
45 minutes ago, Methantilus said:

The Imperial player activates this unit (for drama's sake, let's say it rolls 3 dice attack, and it is currently focused... ouch) and chooses to use an attack action. At the same time Drokatta wants to use Demolish again. Demolish of course would defeat the unit... but does it happen before the attack action?

The first sentence in the RRG under Actions states " During a figure’s activation , it may perform two actions." Based on that could we say that the timing of an action would be categorized as "During your activation?" If so, it falls to the timing conflict resolution: Mission Rules, Imperial, Rebel. Meaning the Imperial attacks and Demolish triggers immediately after the action is completed because it would need to be before the next "During an Activation" period as a1bert laid out.

I don't know, maybe that's a stretch.

Edited by Uninvited Guest

51 minutes ago, a1bert said:

All figure activations do have "phases".

- Start of activation
- During an activation
- Action 1
- During an activation
- Action 2
- During an activation
- End of activation

Demolish doesn't explicitly have "during an activation" specifier, but "limit once per activation" might be considered to include it.

Alright, I think I found the rules that support what @a1bert is saying...

RRG states:

During each Activation Phase, each figure receives one activation. During a figure’s activation, it performs up to two actions.

And then it further says:

Abilities that trigger “during” a figure’s activation are used before or after either of that figure’s two actions.

If we assume that "limit once per activation" forces the window to be "during an a figures activation"; then it must be used before or after the action, and not during. Therefore, you could potentially finish of a unit before it gets to take an action.

=====================

Now, lets assume that for whatever reason (they forgot), the rebel doesn't use it until after the Imperial takes his first action. In this case, the action is a move action. Drokatta is unable to Demolish until after the action resolves, which means the figure gains (4?, fake numbers, yay.) movement points. Since spending movement points and Demolish both occur "during an activation", would you agree that we now enter conflict resolution where the Imperial player gets to decide what to resolve first? And if so, would the Imperial player be allowed to spend all of their movement points before allowing Demolish to resolve?

Edited by Methantilus

Spending movement point(s) to move is a during your activation ability. You move one space at a time when spending movement points. You don't need to end movement to perform a during an activation ability.

If multiple during an activation abilities are activated at the same time, mission rules first, then imperial, then rebel.

3 minutes ago, a1bert said:

Spending movement point(s) to move is a during your activation ability. You move one space at a time when spending movement points. You don't need to end movement to perform a during an activation ability.

If multiple during an activation abilities are activated at the same time, mission rules first, then imperial, then rebel.

Yeah, that's what made sense to me as well. I'm currently in a HotE game with Drokatta, and I can certainly see this potentially coming up. Just wanted to get a grasp on how the timing works. You've helped a lot! Thank you.

I am confused about Palpatine's Emperor ability. It states "once during an activation, you may choose another figure within 4 spaces. That figure interrupts to perform an attack." It does not say a friendly figure, so I assume you can attack with hostile figures. I used it this way against an opposing AT-DP with their Palpatine to do some heavy Pierce 3 hits, but I think I may be wrong.

Based on the wording of the card, you could indeed choose a hostile figure... However... "That figure interrupts to perform an attack" is not the same as "Perform an attack with that figure" (such as with Murne's False Orders ). So if you choose to target a hostile figure, then that figures controller determines the target of the attack. Outside of some niche cases in Skirmish, I don't see this ever being worthwhile. Remember that if the figure is in control of its own attack, friendly figures (to it) are not eligible targets.

Luckily, this ability is not mandatory... unlike Tempt.

3 hours ago, QuarrenKing said:

I am confused about Palpatine's Emperor ability. It states "once during an activation, you may choose another figure within 4 spaces. That figure interrupts to perform an attack." It does not say a friendly figure, so I assume you can attack with hostile figures. I used it this way against an opposing AT-DP with their Palpatine to do some heavy Pierce 3 hits, but I think I may be wrong.

simple way to think about it:

"Perform an attack with that figure" like Murne you temporarily mind-control that figure. The owner/controller temporarily changes to you .

Murne Rin Lure of the Dark Side

"That figure interrupts to perform an attack" like Palpatine or Jabba you do not really control that figure. The figure's owner did not change, so if you Palpatine's Emperor or Jabba's Order Hit me I'll just say meh ok there's no one to shoot at

Jabba the Hutt Skirmish Emperor Palpatine

You are correct that it doesn't say friendly figure, and you may target hostile figures with it. But remember the above: the owner didn't change , so your opponent can totally just say "alright, no target in sight"

Edited by ricope
31 minutes ago, ricope said:

simple way to think about it:

"Perform an attack with that figure" like Murne you temporarily mind-control that figure. The owner/controller temporarily changes to you .

Murne Rin Lure of the Dark Side

"That figure interrupts to perform an attack" like Palpatine or Jabba you do not really control that figure. The figure's owner did not change, so if you Palpatine's Emperor or Jabba's Order Hit me I'll just say meh ok there's no one to shoot at

Jabba the Hutt Skirmish Emperor Palpatine

You are correct that it doesn't say friendly figure, and you may target hostile figures with it. But remember the above: the owner didn't change , so your opponent can totally just say "alright, no target in sight"

Not entirely accurate, with Palpatine you have to attack, with Jabba you may attack. But in either case, you can't target friendlies. So if Palpatine uses the ability on another player's figure, that figure has to attack if it can. Maybe useful in a four player team up, or possibly you're trying to trigger something...

6 hours ago, QuarrenKing said:

I am confused about Palpatine's Emperor ability. It states "once during an activation, you may choose another figure within 4 spaces. That figure interrupts to perform an attack." It does not say a friendly figure, so I assume you can attack with hostile figures

You don't attack with a hostile figure. The chosen figure performs an attack.

Edited by a1bert

Ah. I talked with my dad about it and I wondered if that was truly the case. Thanks.