Aggressive Negotiations + Power to Shields

By udat, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi,

I have a question about Leia's surge ability to exhaust a class card, and the Power to Shields class card (it may also matter to other class cards). There's nothing that can stop Leia exhausting the card if she has the surge, but what I am not sure about is if the IP can then pay 1 threat to "ready" the card again. Presumably yes?

Cheers :)

It doesn't seem possible.

Either you need to exhaust Power to Shields before the spend surges step, and spend the threat to ready it, and Leia spends a surge to exhaust it,

Or Leia spends a surge to exhaust it, and thus you cannot exhaust it to activate the ability to ready it.

(You can only spend the threat to ready it if you exhaust to activate it. You can't use the "Then," part without resolving the first part.)

Leia's ability is to deny a single use of a class card, which she still does. Denying all use that round for a multi-use card Seems OP.

The card has been exhausted while an Imperial Figure is defending in both cases (normal use and Leia), which, to me, seems to satisfy the "then" part of the card.

congratulations, you kill leia first. you can do it easily with a group of regular stormtroopers. And knowing that you have mortar, it really isn't hard. Yes it sucks, but they did pay you 8* threat to bring her.

26 minutes ago, udat said:

The card has been exhausted while an Imperial Figure is defending in both cases (normal use and Leia), which, to me, seems to satisfy the "then" part of the card.

You resolve abilities fully before the game can continue. Unless there is an ability that triggers from Power to Shields ignoring a keyword to interrupt, you perform the "Then," part immediately afterwards.

Check a few of other abilities with "Then," and you see that it would be ridiculous if a player could just say that "You can continue now, I'll perform the Then, -part later when I feel like it."

Like, "Then, you're defeated." of Self-Destruct.

You are most likely correct in your interpretation, and I didn't think there would be any delayed effect, just that the "Then" could be read as "If this card has been exhausted while an Imp Figure is defending, then..." so as soon as Leia exhausts the card, the IP could refresh it for 1 threat. So her ability denies a single use of the class card, as it does for all other class cards that are one use per turn.