Raddus First Activation Restriction

By Ardaedhel, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Okay, the scenario:

Player 1 has Raddus and a two-ship build (or only two ships left), say an MC80 and a Liberty. Not super important. Raddus is on the MC80, the Liberty is in hyperspace.

Player 2 has Han Solo.

The MC80 takes a real beating before jumping the Liberty in. No shields left, brace gone, down to 2 hull at the end of round 3.

At the beginning of Round 4, Raddus activates to jump in the Liberty. The Liberty has the restriction that it cannot be the first ship to activate that round .

Then , Han Solo activates at the start of the ship phase, attacking and killing Raddus' MC80.

Player 1 now has only one ship in play, and activates first, but that ship cannot be the first ship to activate that round.

What do?

Worst case scenario?

You cannot activate a ship. As Cannot on an upgrade card is absolute , you default to giving 2nd Player the 1st Activation of the turn.

On the very odd grounds that there is nowhere that says that 2nd Player cannot activate 1st if required....

... Very odd.

The Alternative, really... Is to break a Golden Rule . Or stop playing.

In the effort to not stop playing, and to not break a golden rule ... You do the seemingly unthinkable, yet logical action.

2nd Player activates first.

Edited by Drasnighta

Seems legit to me, albeit a really weird scenario.

Just now, Ardaedhel said:

Seems legit to me, albeit a really weird scenario.

Exceptionally weird, and I absolutely hate that I'm defaulting to the idea of "it doesn't say you can't..."

But that's my feeling on the subject here... It is literally a Divide-by-0 Scenario if you don't treat it that way...

Another way of looking at it might be that the restriction is no longer in play because Raddus is no longer in play . My line of thinking on this is that if Raddus was destroyed before the Liberty was able to be brought it, it would be able to be brought in due to Raddus no longer being in play. So in the case where the ship was brought in, but Raddus destroyed before being activated the restriction of not being able to activate the Liberty first is no longer in play.

Although I would think that the above should be the more likely way of resolving this.

Just now, Belegon said:

Another way of looking at it might be that the restriction is no longer in play because Raddus is no longer in play . My line of thinking on this is that if Raddus was destroyed before the Liberty was able to be brought it, it would be able to be brought in due to Raddus no longer being in play. So in the case where the ship was brought in, but Raddus destroyed before being activated the restriction of not being able to activate the Liberty first is no longer in play.

Although I would think that the above should be the more likely way of resolving this.

That is another possible way of thinking about it, too.

All ships have to be activated during the Ship Phase, so I'd think you'd just activate it anyway, despite Raddus's text.

Also another wrinkle is that both players take turns activating ships so presumably, the other scenario is the other player activates their first ship before the Liberty, thus satisfying Raddus.

7 minutes ago, Belegon said:

Another way of looking at it might be that the restriction is no longer in play because Raddus is no longer in play . My line of thinking on this is that if Raddus was destroyed before the Liberty was able to be brought it, it would be able to be brought in due to Raddus no longer being in play. So in the case where the ship was brought in, but Raddus destroyed before being activated the restriction of not being able to activate the Liberty first is no longer in play.

I thought about this, but I do disagree. I think the effect is atomic: the restriction is put in place when Raddus is resolved. In this sense it works like AFFM/STM/EF: even if the upgrade that produced the effect is removed, the effect carries on until it would normally end.

You can certainly reasonably disagree with me there, but that's what I think.

2 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

I thought about this, but I do disagree. I think the effect is atomic: the restriction is put in place when Raddus is resolved. In this sense it works like AFFM/STM/EF: even if the upgrade that produced the effect is removed, the effect carries on until it would normally end.

You can certainly reasonably disagree with me there, but that's what I think.

That is the precedent we have set for those sorts of effects.

Its put in place. It remains until it expires appropriately. (Generally the status phase unless otherwise specified)

11 hours ago, Drasnighta said:

On the very odd grounds that there is nowhere that says that 2nd Player cannot activate 1st if required....

That's inherent to Hyperspace Assault since the core. How would anyone play it with the Empire otherwise?

7 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

That's inherent to Hyperspace Assault since the core. How would anyone play it with the Empire otherwise?

That is the point then.

SOME people are arguing in the Raddus Bomb thread though, that THE GAME ENDS instead...

Just now, Drasnighta said:

That is the point then.

SOME people are arguing in the Raddus Bomb thread though, that THE GAME ENDS instead...

Yes lol

I felt weird arguing with the same case for different things. It is funny.

Am I the only one who played the core set? It seems everyone else jumped on the wave 1 and 300 points battle since the beginning.

1 hour ago, ovinomanc3r said:

Yes lol

I felt weird arguing with the same case for different things. It is funny.

Am I the only one who played the core set? It seems everyone else jumped on the wave 1 and 300 points battle since the beginning.

You're not. I started with the core set not five days after release.

I played the core set, but Never Hyperspace as Imperials. Only Rebels.

3 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

I played the core set, but Never Hyperspace as Imperials. Only Rebels.

I always played Imperials, but didn't use Hyperspace Assault until I got a second core set and upped the points to 350, I think. Starting with no ships in play, while seemingly legit at the time, just didn't sit well with me.

Edited by Darth Lupine

It is entirely possible, last ok’ing back, that I had an Imperial opponent play it, and I was so nonplussed by it it’s never bothered me, which flavours my stance now.

Am I allowed to point out, " THIS WILL NEVER HAPPEN ", yet?

Edited by Ginkapo
6 minutes ago, Ginkapo said:

Am I allowed to point out, " THIS WILL NEVER HAPPEN ", yet?

Sure, knock yourself out.

THIS WILL NEVER HAPPEN

If we think of the golden rule as a means to "break" the rules of the RRG, I think Raddus takes precedence. He overrules the RRG.

Image result for star wars armada raddus

Image result for star wars armada han solo

The Golden Rules
Effects on components such as cards sometimes contradict rules found in the Learn to Play or Rules Reference booklets. In these situations, the component’s effect takes precedence. If a card effect uses the word “cannot,” that effect is absolute.

Ship Phase
During this phase, the first player activates one of his ships. Then the second player activates one of his own ships. Players continue taking turns in this manner until all ships have been activated.
• Players cannot activate ships that have already been activated.
• If a player has no unactivated ships remaining, he must pass his turn for the rest of the phase.

2 hours ago, Ginkapo said:

THIS WILL NEVER HAPPEN

state_the_obvious_futurama.gif

On 27/10/2017 at 0:05 PM, ovinomanc3r said:

That's inherent to Hyperspace Assault since the core. How would anyone play it with the Empire otherwise?

Lol imperial player is second in this case anyway so not a precedence here