New FAQ released

By Tvayumat, in Runewars Miniatures Game

24 minutes ago, darkjawa103 said:

Page 7 shows a few pics. They helped me understand the wording.

This was ultimately what I hadn't yet seen that now makes sense. So no matter the situation however many trays are on the edge of combat, that's the answer.

Edit: Tvayumat really simplifies it perfectly.

13 minutes ago, Tvayumat said:

It's a common sense answer, complicated only by the definition and use of the word "rank" in the rulebook.

Threat is equal to the number of trays on the contacted edge. Boom. Done.

Edited by Curlycross

@Curlycross didnt we have this happen in our game that literally was a 3pt difference to who won?

I flanked your 3x3 of skellies and Hexer'd them to draw a morale and face them away from me and i ended up sitting in an L shaped back formation.

If i remember right we ruled it the way they faq'd it though we just didnt have it as wordy lol (basically ignored the partial rank touching me, either way it would be threat3)

27 minutes ago, Tvayumat said:

Threat is equal to the number of trays on the contacted edge. Boom. Done.

FFG needs to hire you. NOW.

Edited by maxam
1 hour ago, Vineheart01 said:

@Curlycross didnt we have this happen in our game that literally was a 3pt difference to who won?

I flanked your 3x3 of skellies and Hexer'd them to draw a morale and face them away from me and i ended up sitting in an L shaped back formation.

If i remember right we ruled it the way they faq'd it though we just didnt have it as wordy lol (basically ignored the partial rank touching me, either way it would be threat3)

That is exactly what happened, and thankfully we did it right. (#luck)

1 hour ago, maxam said:

FFG needs to hire you. NOW.

Who's to say he isn't working for them. He's always the one to chime in on rules and clarify them, he's also been known to ask people to stop being hostile to other forum posters... *cough* moderator *cough*

Rear flanking vs Side flanking has an interesting difference. In both cases, the target cannot reroll. As you remove trays during a side attack, you can immediately decrease their threat by 1 on the first tray removed, and you slowly decrease threat as you clear full ranks. With a rear attack, every tray you destroy decreases threat --- until you clear the rank, then it's back to full again.

It makes me wonder, if you have a rear flank, if you should be crazy about finishing off a final tray, or letting it sit one round so the counter attack is much weaker? I guess you always have the option of not closing in on the full strength unit as well.

Ok this question came up in my game last night.

I have Mauro in an infantry unit (M), he is marching within distance of an infantry unit with lingering dead(O). Picture:

MMM OOOO

MMM OOOO

OOOO

I get attacked with and 3 trays are killed (X)

MMM OOOO

MMM OOOO

MMM OXXX

Lingering dead makes them hang out until the end of the end phase. Now Mauro goes and skills to adds 3 trays (B) being blank:

MMM OOOO

MMM OOOO

OXXX

BOOO

The end of the end phase comes, I cant remove trays becasue it would split one unit into 2. Is there a rule that prevents Mauro from doing this? This seems like a lets says "rickish" thing to do. And if this is allowed can you start using green runes to start filling in the middle trays again?

16 minutes ago, flightmaster101 said:

Ok this question came up in my game last night.

I have Mauro in an infantry unit (M), he is marching within distance of an infantry unit with lingering dead(O). Picture:

*snip*

The end of the end phase comes, I cant remove trays becasue it would split one unit into 2. Is there a rule that prevents Mauro from doing this? This seems like a lets says "rickish" thing to do. And if this is allowed can you start using green runes to start filling in the middle trays again?

The way I have understood it, is that when the end phase rolls around, you get to add your Reanimate figures thanks to Regenerate. Following that, any empty spaces must be filled by figures from the back rank. If any trays in the back rank are now empty, they are removed. This logic comes from rules for when Figure Upgrades are removed (38.7), but I don't think there is any explicit direction in the rules currently for Ankaur's adding trays to a unit with Lingering Dead.

11 minutes ago, Parakitor said:

The way I have understood it, is that when the end phase rolls around, you get to add your Reanimate figures thanks to Regenerate. Following that, any empty spaces must be filled by figures from the back rank. If any trays in the back rank are now empty, they are removed. This logic comes from rules for when Figure Upgrades are removed (38.7), but I don't think there is any explicit direction in the rules currently for Ankaur's adding trays to a unit with Lingering Dead.

Ok so you would actually end up with:

OOOO

OOOO

OOOO

That makes me feel loads better.

Edit: As a non waiqar player these are important lessons so no one can pull one over on me.

Edited by flightmaster101
34 minutes ago, flightmaster101 said:

Ok so you would actually end up with:

OOOO

OOOO

OOOO

That makes me feel loads better.

Edit: As a non waiqar player these are important lessons so no one can pull one over on me.

Keep in mind that if there was even just 1 Natural rune, a figure would be added to an empty tray, and it would end up like this:

OOOO

OOOO

OOOO

O

with just a single figure in the back rank. (Although, to be nitpicky, Ankaur Maro figure upgrade can only add 1 or 2 trays at a time, never 3 trays. :) )

Fair i was just trying to make an example, and not knowing the details since i dont play him it seemed reasonable in my head.

1 hour ago, flightmaster101 said:

Fair i was just trying to make an example, and not knowing the details since i dont play him it seemed reasonable in my head.

The good news is that embedded Maro can only add up to 2 trays of units (bad for undead, good for you). Also, when you are adding units for reanimation, you have to fill up a tray before moving on, so your opponent couldn't add 1 figure to each empty tray to keep ranks.

59 minutes ago, backupsidekick said:

The good news is that embedded Maro can only add up to 2 trays of units (bad for undead, good for you). Also, when you are adding units for reanimation, you have to fill up a tray before moving on, so your opponent couldn't add 1 figure to each empty tray to keep ranks.

That was a rough game when we thought regeneration allowed you to scatter your guys across many trays. I got decimated on that one! :)