New Player Question About Weaknesses

By Chickenface, in Arkham Horror: The Card Game

In general, when you draw a weakness from your deck, after resolving its effects does it remain in your hand? Does it go in your threat area? Or do you discard it?

For instance, when I draw Paranoia, after discarding all of my resources what do I do with the card? Does it stay in my hand to take up space (because you can't voluntarily discard a weakness)? Does it go in my discard pile to potentially be drawn again should I have to reshuffle? Or does it stay in my threat area to keep it from being drawn a second time (seems unlikely for Arkham Horror)?

Also, with Roland's Cover Up, that goes into my Threat area with clue tokens on it until I successfully remove all of those clue tokens. Once that happens, do I discard the card or does it remain in my threat area?

The rules are bizarrely unclear on this, and that may just be because the answer is so obvious to everyone but me that they didn't think to write it down.

Treat them like the card type they are.

A Treachery is resolved like an encounter deck Treachery - resolve it's revelation effect. Unless it tells you otherwise, discard it after resolving. Roland's Cover Up is a counter-example.

An Asset is resolved like an Asset type - it goes into play and stays there. Daisy's Necronomicon is an example - its revelation tells you to put it into play in your threat area so it will stay there.

An Event is like an Event type - it stays in your hand until you choose to play it. Note that you cannot choose to discard a Weakness from your hand, so if you have over 8 cards, or some encounter effect instructs you to choose and discard cards from your hand, you cannot choose the Weakness. (There are other effects that let you discard Weaknesses, such as random discard, or discard by card type.)

Yes, however the Carcosa 'hidden' weaknesses mention in the rules that "they cannot be discarded by any means". And so I do believe that this would also keep you from losing it to a hand wipe even.

24 minutes ago, Bronze said:

Yes, however the Carcosa 'hidden' weaknesses mention in the rules that "they cannot be discarded by any means". And so I do believe that this would also keep you from losing it to a hand wipe even.

You are correct, but those are not Weaknesses, so they have different rules that apply to them.

1 hour ago, Network57 said:

You are correct, but those are not Weaknesses, so they have different rules that apply to them.

Ah yes; apologies.

13 hours ago, Network57 said:

Treat them like the card type they are.

A Treachery is resolved like an encounter deck Treachery - resolve it's revelation effect. Unless it tells you otherwise, discard it after resolving. Roland's Cover Up is a counter-example.

An Asset is resolved like an Asset type - it goes into play and stays there. Daisy's Necronomicon is an example - its revelation tells you to put it into play in your threat area so it will stay there.

An Event is like an Event type - it stays in your hand until you choose to play it. Note that you cannot choose to discard a Weakness from your hand, so if you have over 8 cards, or some encounter effect instructs you to choose and discard cards from your hand, you cannot choose the Weakness. (There are other effects that let you discard Weaknesses, such as random discard, or discard by card type.)

An asset without a Revelation effect putting it into play (none exist so far, and I doubt FFG will create any) would also stay in your hand.

A skill (none exist so far, either) would also stay in your hand.

An enemy (Yorick's Ghouls, for instance) spawns engaged with you.