Maybe a stupid question about Ten Nunb

By Lemmiwinks86, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Hi all.
Using Ten Nunb against a scatter ace made me think if the crit die is spent before or after the "spend defense tokens step". My thinking is that it is done during the "Modify dice step" of the attack, but I'm not sure if that "spend" count as a modification of the dice (as clearly it is not "Spend Accuracy").

3 . Resolve Attack Effects: The attacker can resolve attack effects as described below:
◊◊ Modify Dice: The attacker can resolve any of its effects that modify its dice. This includes card effects and the (concentrate fire) command.
◊◊ Spend Accuracy (G) Icons: The attacker can spend one or more of its G icons to choose the same

I believe my thinking is correct, but if someone asks me for justification of why it happens before they can spend the scatter to cancel it, I'm not sure what official rule I can quote.

Thanks

It is not a crit effect. It goes before defense token step. No scatter. No mercy.

13 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

It is not a crit effect. It goes before defense token step. No scatter. No mercy.

I want that on a shirt.

Happy birthday by the way sheep.

Edited by Megatronrex

Yes, it is indeed a Resolve Attack Effects part of the step. It is not a Critical Effect... Both Ten Numb and Fletchette Torpedoes enter this category. That way, they are able to bypass the scatter token of Enemies... The Scatter, of course, with Ten Numb, will stop him from doing any damage to the target , but everyone splashed will still be splashed, and as they are not defenders of the attack, they cannot dodge with their own scatter, either.

5 hours ago, Megatronrex said:

I want that on a shirt.

Happy birthday by the way sheep.

crown.png%22%7D,%22line5%22:%7B%22colour

It would be better with the scatter icon but I spend just 1' in a random page that allows that.

Edited by ovinomanc3r

For more clarity, the RR clearly puts the SPEND action in the Modify Dice step on page 7 of the RR. That and the Attack steps on page 2 is what you want to reference IMHO. The crit icon, as Ovinoman pointed out, calls out the die to spend and not a crit effect which would precede the card’s writeup with the crit icon. @Lemmiwinks86

1 hour ago, WGNF911 said:

the RR clearly puts the SPEND action in the Modify Dice step on page 7 of the RR

I know that Ten's effect is not a critical, but this is what I was looking for, where in the RRG was specified that all spends were made during the modify dice step and for some reason I missed it. Thanks very much for your help!

1 hour ago, WGNF911 said:

Ovinoman

I am not a sheep man. I am a sorcerer who turns other men into sheep. <_<

14 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

I am not a sheep man. I am a sorcerer who turns other men into sheep. <_<

Really?

Typically, the suffix "mancer" is defined as "divination by means of".

Rather, you divine through sheep . Or perhaps in other terms talk to sheep to see the future . In the strictest sense, a Necromancer, for example, is one who uses the Dead to divine the future... Through the casting of the Bones, or the Speaking with the Spirits. They do not command them beyond the purposes of divination.

Whereas, if you wished to be a Miracle Worker, or Magician or Sorcerer to do with Sheep (as you loosely described), you would best be determined as an Ovinomaturge...

Of course, that hardly rolls off the tongue.

24 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

Really?

Typically, the suffix "mancer" is defined as "divination by means of".

Rather, you divine through sheep . Or perhaps in other terms talk to sheep to see the future . In the strictest sense, a Necromancer, for example, is one who uses the Dead to divine the future... Through the casting of the Bones, or the Speaking with the Spirits. They do not command them beyond the purposes of divination.

Whereas, if you wished to be a Miracle Worker, or Magician or Sorcerer to do with Sheep (as you loosely described), you would best be determined as an Ovinomaturge...

Of course, that hardly rolls off the tongue.

Blame MTG

ovinomancer_9195.JPG

2 hours ago, ovinomanc3r said:

Blame MTG

Oh, I Will...

7 hours ago, ovinomanc3r said:

I am not a sheep man. I am a sorcerer who turns other men into sheep. <_<

LOL!!! I didn’t even notice and I have ABSOLUTELY no idea what y’all are talking about hahaha.

1 hour ago, WGNF911 said:

LOL!!! I didn’t even notice and I have ABSOLUTELY no idea what y’all are talking about hahaha.

There is a documentary called Black Sheep about him. You should give it a try. ;)

I would click “like” but I find that terribly disturbing.