Adaptive Aileron Roundtable

By emeraldbeacon, in X-Wing Rules Questions

While mulling over Adaptive Ailerons, I had a few odd situation questions that I thought I'd pose to the brain trust. Some of these, I already know the answers to; I just wanted to get the brain cells working on some hypotheticals this weekend morning:

  1. If you have Twin Ion Engine Mk. II equipped, are the Aileron bank maneuvers also green?
  2. If you have the Loose Stabilizer critical damage card, do you receive stress after performing your Aileron move?
  3. If you have the Shaken Pilot critical damage card, can you perform a straight Aileron move, or do you need to do a bank?
  4. Does an Aileron move trigger Snap Shot ?
  5. If your Aileron move causes you to overlap a ship carrying BoShek (that you were not already touching), does that crew card activate?

1. yes

2. Yes, unless your bank was made green (see 1.)

3. You can go straight with Shaken Pilot and Adaptive Ailerons. Shaken Pilot applies to your assigned maneuver, meaning the maneuver chosen on your dial.

4. yes

5. No. Boshek triggers when a ship activates. If you already did Adaptive Ailerons, the timing window for Boshek is over. A ship with Adaptive Ailerons must be overlapping Boshek before Adaptive Ailerons resolves in order to trigger Boshek.

I would agree with jm on all of this, some of these I had not thought of. Interesting...

5 hours ago, sharrrp said:

I would agree with jm on all of this, some of these I had not thought of. Interesting...

I think it's always good to look at "older" cards in new ways... it keeps your mind open to new combos!

Thanks, jmswood!

I just had another thought about Boshek and Adaptive Ailerons.

>Boshek triggers, “when a ship you are touching activates.”

>Adaptive Ailerons triggers, “before you reveal your maneuver dial.”

>Activation (Rules Reference, p4) The first step of Activation is reveal dial.

The way I interpret these 3 points, Boshek and Adaptive Ailerons are simultaneos effects if the ship with Adaptive Ailerons activates while it is already touching the ship with Boshek. This means the two effects are resolved in initiative order.

Inplications:

> If Boshek has initiative, he changes the dial before the Adaptive Ailerons. The Striker can respond to Boshek by making the Adaptive Aileron maneuver in a beneficial direction.

> If the Striker has initiative, then Boshek resolves after the Adaptive Ailerons maneuver, but before the dial is revealed. Boshek can decide whether or not to look at the Striker’s dial with the advantage of knowing the Striker’s post-Adaptive Ailerons position.

Edited by jmswood