I hit a 3 wide, 2 rank deep unit of reanimates with 16 damage. This wipes out the back rank. However I am not clear as to whether I can now assign the remaining 4 damage to any model in the front rank or must assign them to non-figure upgrades as all figures are removed simultaneously?
Assigning damage to multiple ranks
As far as I understand it you can target either side but not the middle unless you have accuracy, when it's down to 2 wide 1 deep you can target either tray.
Since #22 Damge says "the attacker ... assigns damage to one figure at a time ", you just continue assigning damage normally. The back rank is gone and the is only one remaining rank, i.e. figure upgrades usually can be targeted (exception see below).
@Jukey: You can assign to the middle tray unless removing the targeted figure would split the unit. I.e. a banner bearer or musician could be targeted, but not a Carrion Lancer in this situation.
Any figure in the front (now also back) is targetable per the caveat Uthoroc points out - dmg to wound must occur where possible, and you don't cause the unit to split.
16 hours ago, Uthoroc said:Since #22 Damge says "the attacker ... assigns damage to one figure at a time ", you just continue assigning damage normally. The back rank is gone and the is only one remaining rank, i.e. figure upgrades usually can be targeted (exception see below).
@Jukey: You can assign to the middle tray unless removing the targeted figure would split the unit. I.e. a banner bearer or musician could be targeted, but not a Carrion Lancer in this situation.
Was that second part clarified? There was some pretty lengthy discussion here about the intent of the rule. Whether it was referring to individual figures in the tray, or the entire tray itself.
1 hour ago, rowdyoctopus said:Was that second part clarified? There was some pretty lengthy discussion here about the intent of the rule. Whether it was referring to individual figures in the tray, or the entire tray itself.
The FAQ was surprisingly unhelpful. Part of the issue is that the question they asked doesn't match the question we had.
"Q: If assigning damage to a figure upgrade that is in the middle tray in the front rank of a unit would cause that unit to be split into two separate groups of trays, must that damage be assigned to another eligible figure?
A: Yes.
Example: A Spearmen unit equipped with Front Line Rune Golem has only its front rank remaining. The Rune Golem figure is in the middle tray of the unit’s front rank. That figure upgrade cannot be assigned damage that would cause the unit to be split into two groups."
22.4 said: "Damage cannot be assigned to any figures in a tray that, if removed from the unit, would cause that unit to be split into two separate groups of trays."
The original question was whether "if removed the unit" referred to figures or trays. The FAQ question asks only about figures. In a roundabout way, that implies we are to interpret 22.4 as referring to figures and not trays, but it never came out and said it.
Assuming it is figures, the next question is whether you can't assign any damage to a figure that would split the tray if removed or if you just can't assign damage leading up to the final wound that would remove it. Again, rather than clarifying it in the answer, they just rewrote our question. The way the FAQ question is written, we understand that if the damage would cause the figure to be removed and the unit to be split, you must assign that damage to a different unit. This implies that you could deal 1 wound to a Rune Golem in the center, but no more damage after that (because if you start dealing damage to a figure, you must assign enough to wound it).
20 hours ago, Budgernaut said:The FAQ was surprisingly unhelpful. Part of the issue is that the question they asked doesn't match the question we had.
"Q: If assigning damage to a figure upgrade that is in the middle tray in the front rank of a unit would cause that unit to be split into two separate groups of trays, must that damage be assigned to another eligible figure?
A: Yes.
Example: A Spearmen unit equipped with Front Line Rune Golem has only its front rank remaining. The Rune Golem figure is in the middle tray of the unit’s front rank. That figure upgrade cannot be assigned damage that would cause the unit to be split into two groups."22.4 said: "Damage cannot be assigned to any figures in a tray that, if removed from the unit, would cause that unit to be split into two separate groups of trays."
The original question was whether "if removed the unit" referred to figures or trays. The FAQ question asks only about figures. In a roundabout way, that implies we are to interpret 22.4 as referring to figures and not trays, but it never came out and said it.
Assuming it is figures, the next question is whether you can't assign any damage to a figure that would split the tray if removed or if you just can't assign damage leading up to the final wound that would remove it. Again, rather than clarifying it in the answer, they just rewrote our question. The way the FAQ question is written, we understand that if the damage would cause the figure to be removed and the unit to be split, you must assign that damage to a different unit. This implies that you could deal 1 wound to a Rune Golem in the center, but no more damage after that (because if you start dealing damage to a figure, you must assign enough to wound it).
That's what I thought. Thanks!