Area effects

By strangerous, in Star Wars: Age of Rebellion RPG

I'm still new to the FFG Star Wars RPGs, so maybe I've missed something. Are there any rules for area effects? I see rules for blast and grenades, but what about something that isn't necessarily explosive? For example, let's say there's some falling boulders that will hit the whole party, or someone in a small vehicle attempting to ram into the party; how would this be done in the rules?

Give the falling rocks blast and use the collision rules for ramming easy peasy.

For the falling rocks, what I might do is instead make every party member that might be affected by the avalanche roll a check to avoid damage. The rocks aren't "attacking," they're not even sentient! so it's more on the characters to get out of the way, rather than on the rocks to hit the characters. Then, everyone in the area makes a check, and if they fail they take damage from having giant rocks fall on their head.

For the collision, since you've got a vehicle trying to hit a gang of soft meatbags, I'd have the pilot make a Piloting check as a combat check, with the base damage being the speed of the vehicle (multiplied by 10 against personal scale, as normal), and give it any reasonable weapon qualities, such as Blast (to hit more than one target) and Knockdown, 'cause...you know.

I'll admit to not being up on my collision rules, so it's entirely possible that those might replicate this better, but from memory I seem to recall them being good for vehicle/vehicle collisions, which are generally mostly fair, and not so good for vehicle/person collisions, which are generally not.

47 minutes ago, Absol197 said: