In battle, SP icons in fate card will resolve one after one? or in bundle?

By cnnterry, in Runewars

Hello everybody,

Today I just got a problem in a battle, while I have 2 Berserkers both got SP (the golden globe) from the fate cards, namely "You may destroy one of your berserkers to deal 2 damages".

So now I have 2 chances to "deal 2 damages" to enemy, Shold I deal 2 damages first, after my enemy have placed the damage icon, and then deal 2 damages again? Or Should I just let my enemy to freely allocate the total 4 damages to his units at one single time?

This issue I think will also affect the Elf Warrior very much, since his SP is "Deal 1 damage OR destroy the damaged or routed enemy unit of your choice."

This game is really excellent, so I just wish to have a perfect understanding of it. Thanks for your answers!

(**With the same principle, when dealing with the damage icon, should I also assign them one by one? )

Terry CNN

The way it reads, you reveal all your Orb cards at once. But then it says you "resolve his units' special abilities ... a number of times equal to the number of special ability icons he drew". This leads me to think that you resolve each orb one-at-a-time, and thus can wait until one is resolved before doing the next.

Remember, the attacker does ALL of his Orbs first, then the Defender, though.

This may be a good one to bring up with Corey.

Thanks for your answer. I reason the same ways as you do.

But suppose this is valid, if it had to be consistent throughout the battle, I guess the same principle should also apply to dealing damage:

for example, if I got 2 units in my 1st Int., and one draws a "blood-2" while another a "blood-1" (ie. a "1" inside the "blood icon"), now should I let the enemy freely assign the 3 wounds, or just in the order of "1->2"/"2->1"?

And it will be nice if I can get some confirm from the designer. But I'm too new here, how can I get the answer from Corey?

Thanks,

Terry CNN

With the damage (and routs), it really doesn't matter if you do it in one lump, or one card at a time. All the damage cards are revealed at once, so the opponent will know what the total damage is anyway, and will be able to choose what order to apply damage in. It wouldn't matter if you did the 2, then the 1, because the damage would still be applied to the figures he chooses how he wants anyway. That's because really, a 2 damage card is no different at all than two 1-damage cards.

Thus, with damage (and routs), it's just faster to reveal the damage and have them allocate the total damage however they want.

To ask a question of Corey, there's a link at the bottom of the page called "Rules QUestions" (at the VERY bottom, and it's kind of tiny print).

Oh yes I see it, thanks, here I go~~

sigmazero13 said:

With the damage (and routs), it really doesn't matter if you do it in one lump, or one card at a time. All the damage cards are revealed at once, so the opponent will know what the total damage is anyway, and will be able to choose what order to apply damage in. It wouldn't matter if you did the 2, then the 1, because the damage would still be applied to the figures he chooses how he wants anyway. That's because really, a 2 damage card is no different at all than two 1-damage cards.

Thus, with damage (and routs), it's just faster to reveal the damage and have them allocate the total damage however they want.

To ask a question of Corey, there's a link at the bottom of the page called "Rules QUestions" (at the VERY bottom, and it's kind of tiny print).

Pardon my cross post between here and BBG. In some cases maybe...but I'm not sure, it may just make some difference, as:

Say if my 2 units draw fate cards and one got "1-damage" while another got "2-damage", if my enemy can collectively assign the 3 damages, he can just spread them around 3 seperate units all with 2 health, then no one dies.

However if he takes 1 wound first, then the 2 wounds after will certainly be forced apply to that damaged unit, then that unit will die.


If I reason wrongly please tell me, thanks a lot for help.

Quoting me from BGG:

"Reread the rules for applying damage. You have to assign damage to already damaged units first, and you must assign damage to unrouted units first, and you must rout undamaged units first. Thus, if he assigned 1 damage to 1 unit with 2 health, he must then assign the next damage to that unit and kill it before he can assign damage to an undamaged unit. That is why it doesn't matter."