Unleashing the Emperor's Full Fury

By Wagnerok, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

In the latest news article, My Ally Is the Force , we are given an example of "reinforcing" the Emperor's Force Lightning ability with the Force Lightning command card.

I do not understand this example. Is the ability and command card done as two separate actions or combined into one?

Per the rules as I understand them, this could be done as two separate actions. However, the force lightning command card only has a range of 2 spaces and in the example, Jabba is at a range of 3. That being said, Jabba is actually a 2x1 figure and in the example he is pictured as a small figure. Thus, if Jabba is also occupying the space to his right then this could be done as two separate actions and FFG just messed up the image by having a small Jabba.

OR... There is a new rule I am unaware of allowing you to combine abilities into one action.

Looking for clarification...

Quote

As an example, you might reinforce the Emperor's Force Lightning by playing the Force Lightning command card from the Core Set . Unleashing the Emperor's full fury, this combination can deal a whopping six damage to a single figure, plus three damage to each figure adjacent to it, and if the Emperor's primary target survives, that figure will still be Stunned and Weakened.

swi48-emperor-palpatine.png swi01-force-lightning.png swi47_49_diagram_palpatine.png

You're correct, they would be two separate actions. I don't think the example image was necessarily meant to display that both the ability and command were being used.

Also Jabba is 2x2 and can't fit into the example space at all, I think they did that in a few images :D .

Edited by Uninvited Guest

But how do you end up dealing 6 damage to a single figure. It should be 5, right!? Or is the effect of 'Tempt'?

4 hours ago, Whitebubble said:

But how do you end up dealing 6 damage to a single figure. It should be 5, right!? Or is the effect of 'Tempt'?

possibly

frankly I wouldn't hold my breath over it, FFG marketing isn't really that closely related to the development team and this isn't the first time they made a rule mistake in their article

edit: just noticed Jabba is a 1x1 instead of 2x2 in that picture, so in real game wouldn't everyone adjacent to that fat 2x2 suffers 1dmg from Palp's Force Lighting? (not the command card) That's a pretty big 4x4 square

Edited by ricope

They probably just made a mistake. It wouldn't be the first nor the last time. And X-wing players will certainly tell you it's not the worst (K-wing dropping bombs with the SLAM action... that was bad).