Ardus and Allied Surge Abilities

By Elliphino, in Runewars Rules Questions

I could have sworn I saw these questions asked and answered in another thread, but my search-fu is weak and I couldn't find it... So, does anybody know or can you cite a rule to answer:

1) If Ardus is using the surge ability of a unit with combat ingenuity equipped, does he benefit from surge abilities costing one less?

2) If the Ardus upgrade card is being used in a unit of Reanimates with Combat Ingenuity equipped, can he use the cost 2 surges of allies for only one surge?

Thanks in advance!

The answer to #1 is yes, and you can find it in the FAQ.

I'm undecided on #2. Ardus does not grant "you" (the Reanimates unit) any surge abilities, instead granting those abilities to "this attack." CI only lowers the surge cost of "your" surge abilities. I could see it being ruled either way. I would probably say CI does reduce borrowed surge abilities if I were a judge tonight.

Edited by Budgernaut

And at risk of being contrary

1) yes, rad FAQ

2) no, you do not have any surge abilities to augment. Full price unless the unit borrowed from had CI.