Finn Edwards

By Sagremor, in Arkham Horror Second Edition

Two problems with Finn:

1) Finn Edwards starts game with a Bank Loan, should I add 10 bucks from this loan to the 8 bucks Finn already has? Does he start with 8 or 18 $?

2) His "Holdout" rule says: "Finn never has to discard items or lose money, even when he is unconscious or driven insane. He must still pay costs as usual." OK, so does it mean that this loan he gets at the beginning he doesn't have to pay back? Should I roll for the Bank Loan during every Upkeep phase? Finn doesn't have to lose money so what's the point in rolling for Bank Loan?

Thanks.

1) Finn starts with $8. The $10 from the Bank Loan has already been distributed equivalently amongst his pile of other possessions.

2) Finn still has to roll, and if he fails, he has to pay $1. If he chooses not to, he won't lose any items, but he WILL lose the Loan and be unable to acquire another one. And you will lose a victory point for the defaulted Loan if you win the game.

Oh no ;.( I'll lose a point, how will I be able to live with myself?

Avi_dreader said:

Oh no ;.( I'll lose a point, how will I be able to live with myself?

*whispers:

Take the Silas Marsh approach demonio.gif .

Dam said:

Avi_dreader said:

Oh no ;.( I'll lose a point, how will I be able to live with myself?

*whispers:

Take the Silas Marsh approach demonio.gif .

It figures that you'd be the one to counsel suicide ;') have you ever considered doing it for a living?

it'd matter in my games... my players like to play a cooperative game, but only if they can get competitive about it lol

we keep a list in the box of "high scores" ^_^

Hm. I'm pretty confident in saying that Finn's Holdout ability prevents him from needing to discard money to the bank loan. IE: he doesn't have to roll for it. The reason he has it (other than extra starting equipment) is so that you're not allowed to go take out *another* loan.

awp832 said:

Hm. I'm pretty confident in saying that Finn's Holdout ability prevents him from needing to discard money to the bank loan. IE: he doesn't have to roll for it. The reason he has it (other than extra starting equipment) is so that you're not allowed to go take out *another* loan.

Bank loan doesn't make you discard money. It makes you discard items :')

http://www.arkhamhorrorwiki.com/Bank_Loan