Can friendly figures use Saska's Toolkit while she is wounded?

By Marcus2410, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Just before a Tech check to win the mission, my friend was about to use Saska's toolkit class card to discard a token, add a surge and win the game. The trouble was that she was wounded and the Character card has the attribute test element removed from practical solutions. I felt that as the attribute test element had been removed, the toolkit was no longer able to be used and thus he couldn't discard a token to add a bonus surge. I can't find any rulings on this, so who's right?

BTW This became moot anyway. I told him to just roll and he succeeded at the Tech check anyway and won the game.

Saska%20Teft%20Hero%20Healthy_595_ffflogog_whatermark_cc.jpg Saska%20Teft%20Hero%20Wounded_595_ffflogog_whatermark_cc.jpg

It's an interesting question. I think you're right (but may have been misplaying her ability)

Firstly, its important to note that Saska's bonus surge when Device tokens are used can only be added to attacks (not attribute tests).

The secondary part to her ability is only a re-roll of one dice during at attribute test.

When she is wounded she loses the secondary part of the ability, at which point her device tokens can only be used on attacks at all.

Now, if she has Tool Kit, this lets a friendly figure using Practical Solutions (re-roll 1 dice) on an attribute test to gain +1 surge.

The problem is, a wounded Saska has lost the ability to use Practical Solutions on an attribute test at all, and would no longer be able to use the second part of Tool Kit either.

Tool%20Kit_275_thumb_ffflogog_whatermark

Practical Solutions is no longer available for attribute tests while Saska is wounded, so the bottom ability of Tool Kit is also not available.

The top part could be used, but it applies to herself only.

I don't want to open a new thread so I'm putting my question here since it is related:

What does "Using practical solutions" mean in the context of an attribute test? If figures attack they have to decide to spend the token or not to receive a surge and they have to do that when the attack is declared.
When friendly figures perform an attribute test they may discard a token to reroll a dice. Let's assume you roll a blue and a green dice and roll two surges (one on each dice). So the player wouldn't reroll. If you need 3 successes you can use tool kit to add one surge/success. I know in a normal campaign you hardly need more than 2 surges (if ever). In the app however you sometimes want to have as many surges as possible.

So here is(/are) the question(s):

  • If I do not want to reroll can I still spend the token? Or do I have to reroll once I am spend the token? (it reads like this)
  • If I spend the token but do not reroll...am I using "practical solutions"? If not, I cannot use tool kit, correct?
Edited by Whitebubble

"discard to reroll" sounds to me that the reroll is mandatory if you discard the token, and there is no rule or ability that lets you discard a device token without effect.
(And even if you could discard a token without effect, it wouldn't count as using Practical solutions .)

This was my interpretation too. Thanks a1bert. So this ability is nice if you need 1 surge to successfully pass a test. If you need more than one surge it can be tricky as you always have to reroll a dice (e.g., if you test only with one dice) . Forget my last sentence: Of course it's still better to use practical solutions if you need more than one surge if you have only one dice (e.g. green dice: 50/50 chance for 1 or 2 surges with practical solutions vs. 50/50 chance of 0 or 1 surge) ;)

Edited by Whitebubble

Could you choose to re-roll 0 dice, then gain +1 surge?

39 minutes ago, Smashotron said:

Could you choose to re-roll 0 dice, then gain +1 surge?

Rerolling 0 die is not "reroll 1 die".

Yes good point, there is no "up to" in there.