Skirmish - Must I spend all surge?

By Trevize84, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi,

I was wondering if in skirmish a figure is forced to use all the surge. Let's assume I can spend surge but I don't want to, for whatever reason (e.g. attack performed at the very end of the round that would otherwise kill 1 eRiot that would then call for Reinforcements). Can I refuse to use surges?

Thanks.

Edited by Golan Trevize

I don't recall ever seeing a rule saying you have to and it's not uncommon to roll more surges than surge abilities (looking at you, Probe Droids) so it's possible to have surges you CAN'T spend.

So unless I missed something no, you don't have to.

Edited by Uninvited Guest

You choose whether to spend surges and how to spend them. There is no rule that says you need to spend all of them.

Thanks @a1bert !

Edited by Golan Trevize
11 hours ago, a1bert said:

You choose whether to spend surges and how to spend them. There is no rule that says you need to spend all of them.

Right, got confirmation from Todd at Worlds that spending surges are optional. However, natural icons like Bossk's defensive block are mandatory.

Edited by theChony