Squaring up after collision with additional units present

By Aetheriac, in Runewars Rules Questions

My opponent and I ran into a collision conundrum tonight.

Here, the 4x1 Oathsworn charged in trying to hit Ardus. As they swung around, they collided with the 3x2+ Reanimates as in the first image.

zn5FMBI.jpg

We were wondering what the proper way to square up would be in this scenario, as Ardus is in the way of the normal square up rules. The second image shows what could have happened if the contacting corner was shifted down the Reanimates and extended past the edge. The archers were just outside of contact there. We were not sure if the contacting corner of the Oathsworn should move over the far edge of the Reanimate block. So we pulled the Oathsworn back to the initial contact position (as in the first image).

f28y7MY.jpg

The third image is our final results for the round, after the Reanimates attacked and squared up.

eNbnLXi.jpg

So the question becomes did we play this correctly or would image 2 have been the correct collision protocol?

You would square up like in the second picture.

Lots of goofy things like this happen with 4x1s and 1x4s

1 hour ago, Click5 said:

You would square up like in the second picture.

Lots of goofy things like this happen with 4x1s and 1x4s

Rules Reference 77.5 backs him up on that

14 hours ago, Click5 said:

You would square up like in the second picture.

Lots of goofy things like this happen with 4x1s and 1x4s

13 hours ago, oda204 said:

Rules Reference 77.5 backs him up on that

If I'm reading his post correctly, they would have had to slide the contacting corner of the Oathsworn away from the contact edge. The rules do not say to do this.

I believe you played it correctly by remaining in the original position. It looks like the Reanimates might have been able to square up to the cavalry flank, but without the range ruler extending from the cavalry in a picture it is hard to say.

I think you played it right. If those Reanimate Archers were closer to Ardus, though, you would have just stayed in the position you were in when you collided, before squaring up.

On 10/6/2017 at 2:18 PM, rowdyoctopus said:

If I'm reading his post correctly, they would have had to slide the contacting corner of the Oathsworn away from the contact edge. The rules do not say to do this.

I believe you played it correctly by remaining in the original position. It looks like the Reanimates might have been able to square up to the cavalry flank, but without the range ruler extending from the cavalry in a picture it is hard to say.

When I looked at the cross section of the Reanimates trays from the corner of the Oathsworn, the line cut about 1/4" into the 3rd column of trays in the back rank. It was really close, but with the additional tray coverage, I chose to square up as was illustrated. Part of that may have been the way we put the Oathsworn back after attempting the initial square up controversy too.

Edited by Aetheriac

So which way is right?

1. Leave the cavalry as-is in image 1?
2. Slide the cavalry's contacted corner off the contacted edge of the reanimates and square up as in image 2?

I also think 77.5 says its image 1

Edge Collision: If the moving unit collided with an enemy unit’s edge, slide the moving unit so that the contact point moves in either direction along the enemy unit’s contacted edge until the obstacle is out of the way. Then, the moving unit continues squaring up as normal.

You have to slide the corner along the contacted edge.. and it has to slide off the edge to make this work?

Edited by Glucose98

It definitely seems to read that way after closer inspection. Feels a bit off to me though, at least as far as intent and mechanically on the table. It's pretty clear that squaring up is essential to game play and they make every opportunity to allow you to do so.

My argument would be that since we are dealing with squares and rectangles rather than points and lines, you will attempt to slide along the contacted edge and square up again multiple times, as different portions of the obstacles base come into contact with you.

Basically, you attempt to square up, you hit Ardus on his outside corner, slide down to clear the corner, attempt to square up, you hit his inside corner, slide down (now with different contact points) repeat....

It sounds silly typing it out, but in actual gameplay its way more fluid than trying to eyeball where all the trays are going to sit. Ooops that doesn't work, better move him back to the starting point. Where was that again?

On 10/6/2017 at 0:18 PM, rowdyoctopus said:

If I'm reading his post correctly, they would have had to slide the contacting corner of the Oathsworn away from the contact edge. The rules do not say to do this.

I believe you played it correctly by remaining in the original position. It looks like the Reanimates might have been able to square up to the cavalry flank, but without the range ruler extending from the cavalry in a picture it is hard to say.

3 hours ago, Aetheriac said:

When I looked at the cross section of the Reanimates trays from the corner of the Oathsworn, the line cut about 1/4" into the 3rd column of trays in the back rank. It was really close, but with the additional tray coverage, I chose to square up as was illustrated. Part of that may have been the way we put the Oathsworn back after attempting the initial square up controversy too.

So what you are supposed to do is hold the range ruler over the Reanimates, lining the notch at the end with range 1 up with the corner of the Oathsworn as best as you can. Then you ignore all trays that the ruler overlaps. Finally you count how many un-ignored trays are on each side of the ruler. The side with the most is the direction you square up.

Edited by rowdyoctopus
1 minute ago, rowdyoctopus said:

So what you are supposed to do is hold the range ruler over the Reanimates, lining the notch at the end with range 1 up with the corner of the Oathsworn as best as you can. Then you ignore all trays that the ruler overlaps. Finally you count how many unignored trays are on each side of the ruler. The side with the most is the direction you square up.

In that case it would have been a tie and flanking would have been observed.

Good to know for the next match up.

12 minutes ago, Aetheriac said:

In that case it would have been a tie and flanking would have been observed.

Good to know for the next match up.

Yeah, in a tie you choose! It takes a bit of practice. If you hit at the right angle, the thickness of the ruler can overlap several trays in odd ways.