Rules clarification question -- AT-ST's "awkward" ability

By angelman2, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

Hi all,

This question has not been an issue in our campaigns yet, but it kept me awake last night thinking about it. Granted this situation is very unlikely to ever occur (since Rebs don't get to use the AT-ST very often and they otherwise have no multi-space figurs), but as a theoretical exercise it is a valid question nonetheless. Here goes:

The AT-ST is awkward, meaning it "cannot attack adjacent figures". Now, this all sounds very clear cut, but what about attacking Large/Massive figures where all spaces are not adjacent to the AT-ST? For instance, say the Rebs control the AT-ST in a mission and positions itself so that a E-Web t-bones it (meaning, one of its two spaces are adjacent to the AT-ST's base, but one stands away by a single space). When you attack a Large/Massive figure, you technically attack one of the spaces that the Large/Massive figure occupies, so the question is, can an awkward AT-ST attack another Large/Massive figure if the target occupies any legal spaces not adjacent to the AT-ST?

(Hm... I feel there should be a simpler way to ask this question but my English skills are failing me :P )


The large figure would still be adjacent and cannot be attacked.

I think this has come up before and has been confirmed (I don't have time to search for it now). If the intent were to be able to attack in that case, Awkward would say: your attacks cannot target adjacent spaces instead.

Edited by a1bert

Affirmative! That means that a Rebel-controlled AT-ST touching corners with Weiss cannot target Weiss for an attack. Thank's for the clarification :)