Need some help with the above rule, last night whilst playing the mission 'Homefront' from the Return to Hoth expansion our group couldn't completely agree on how the term 'Rebel Activation' should be correctly applied to one of the missions special rules.
Some slight spoilers ahead, so don't read on if you don't want to know anything about the mission!!!!
Basically, at one point in the mission Jann deploys for the Imperial Player with a special rule that states rather than activate as normal, he instead performs one action after each 'Rebel Activation'. The point of contention was during the activation of our Echo Base Troopers allies, which are a 2 figure deployment group. At this point, the Imperial Player felt that as each figure in a deployment group activates that Jann should get a free action at the end of each of the groups figures activation. At the time I felt this was wrong, and that 'Rebel Activation' applies to the deployment group rather than each individual figure in that group, much in the same way turn rotation is between groups rather than individual figures. We consulted the rule book, but didn't find anything that clarified things and not wanting to loose too much time we continued the game as per the Imperial Players interpretation with Jann taking a free action after each figure in the group activated.
After the game, I spent some more time consulting the various rule books and I still couldn't find anything that clarified this 100%. The learn to play guide has a small section on deployment groups that indicates a group activates and then each figure in that group performs 2 actions. The Rules Reference guide mentions that each figure in a group activates. So there appears to be a few conflicting statements regarding activations. I also think it's worth highlighting that Jyn's 'Quick Shot' ability explicitly mentions 'hostile figure's activation', where as the special rule in question here doesn't include the 'figure' keyword.
But in any case. no where can I find a definitive answer. Thoughts?