Fel's Wrath in Epic

By AEIllingworth, in X-Wing Rules Questions

This seems straightforward enough, but I'm not having any luck finding it anywhere.

What happens when when a huge ship would overlap Fel's Wrath? Does it stop the movement short or does the ram overwrite the ability? Is there a mystery third option?

I've been pretty much dared to run Fel's Wrath and I was going to include it in my next epic list, but I figured I should know how it works.

Fel's Wrath 's ability doesn't get to trigger if he's overlapped by a huge ship. The huge ship rules state he's immediately destroyed and the huge ship continues its manoeuvre, so there's no damage cards being assigned to trigger FW's ability.

Quote

Overlapping Small or Large Ships
When a huge ship executes a maneuver and the final position of one of its sections overlaps one or more small or large ships, the small or large ships overlapped by the huge ship are immediately destroyed and the huge ship completes its maneuver . The huge ship does not skip its “Perform Action” step.
Then, the huge ship’s player rolls one attack die for each small ship destroyed in the overlap and two attack dice for each large ship destroyed in the overlap. Then the huge ship’s fore section suffers any damage and critical damage rolled.

There's really no way a TIE Interceptor is going to cause a Corvette or Transport to stop dead in space. ;)

Follow-up question: Tel Trevua's ability does trigger upon destruction, rather than on the number of damage cards, so what happens when the huge ship overlaps him?

6 hours ago, DR4CO said:

Follow-up question: Tel Trevua's ability does trigger upon destruction, rather than on the number of damage cards, so what happens when the huge ship overlaps him?

Players read the huge ship rules, then Tel's card, then the huge ship rules again, then Tel's card again, then decide to email FFG 'cos nobody can actually answer that one. ;)

I would doubt the huge ship would stop on contact, but there's also no rules that cover moving or pushing a ship aside. This is one corner case that can only be answered by FFG. :huh:

personally I'd probably rule it that if the template overlaps but the ship doesn't, tel's ability activates and he stays in place, if the ship overlaps, he just explodes.

4 hours ago, thespaceinvader said:

personally I'd probably rule it that if the template overlaps but the ship doesn't, tel's ability activates and he stays in place, if the ship overlaps, he just explodes.

There is no effect from a huge ship template overlapping another ship since the template is placed beside the ship and does not indicate the path the ship actually takes, so it wouldn't trigger Tel's ability.

"The huge ship suffers these effects when one of its sections overlaps an obstacle, not when its maneuver template overlaps an obstacle." - Huge Ship Rules 3.0

Granted that only refers to obstacles, not other ships, but since the template doesn't normally matter when ships fly through each other, it would follow that it still doesn't matter with huge ships.

I don't think there is any clear ruling given the current rules as written, so it would come down to house rules (like so many interactions with Huge Ships). I would probably rule that the ship is destroyed to make it easier, but I suppose you could mark the ship or try placing the ship on top of the huge ships base so both ships would occupy the same space. I would not stop the huge ship in its tracks.

Oh, true.

Yeah, there's really no way to rule it without making something up.

Expecting FFG to actually put an Epic FAQ update up also seems pretty brave right now though, so if you really need to know, you'd have to make something up.

I think I'd rule that Tel dies if I had to in the meantime. The huge ship doesn't stop, so when Tel regens, he's regenerating underneath and still overlapping the huge ship, so is still dead... Oh, that creates more questions of course (roll two red dice for collision with Tel?) so not sure my interpretation is any better.

Actually, this makes a strange sort of sense... The huge ship hits Tel, rolls a red, Tel is 'destroyed' and put back into play, the huge ship continues it's maneuver, immediately hits Tel again, roll another red - totally destroys Tel - then finishes the maneuver...

I admit, I'm interpreting a fair bit into this... but it seems semi-sorta-maybe-solid.

Edited by LagJanson
4 hours ago, LagJanson said:

I think I'd rule that Tel dies if I had to in the meantime. The huge ship doesn't stop, so when Tel regens, he's regenerating underneath and still overlapping the huge ship, so is still dead... Oh, that creates more questions of course (roll two red dice for collision with Tel?) so not sure my interpretation is any better.

Actually, this makes a strange sort of sense... The huge ship hits Tel, rolls a red, Tel is 'destroyed' and put back into play, the huge ship continues it's maneuver, immediately hits Tel again, roll another red - totally destroys Tel - then finishes the maneuver...

I admit, I'm interpreting a fair bit into this... but it seems semi-sorta-maybe-solid.

This makes the most RAW sense to me.

11 hours ago, LagJanson said:

I think I'd rule that Tel dies if I had to in the meantime. The huge ship doesn't stop, so when Tel regens, he's regenerating underneath and still overlapping the huge ship, so is still dead... Oh, that creates more questions of course (roll two red dice for collision with Tel ?) so not sure my interpretation is any better.

Actually, this makes a strange sort of sense... The huge ship hits Tel , rolls a red, Tel is 'destroyed' and put back into play, the huge ship continues it's maneuver, immediately hits Tel again, roll another red - totally destroys Tel - then finishes the maneuver...

I admit, I'm interpreting a fair bit into this... but it seems semi-sorta-maybe-solid.

The only problem here is that the huge ship doesn't pause its manoeuvre to check for an overlap. The rule states the huge ship's final position , not anywhere along its path to that position. And I think the huge ship would only roll for damage once. Tel's ability states " The first time you would be destroyed, instead cancel any remaining damage...deal 4 damage cards... ", so the first time Tel is "destroyed" is more of a Technical Knock Out to trigger the ability. Regardless of Tel's current damage status, 4 damage cards are dealt and the ship remains in play. Unfortunately for Tel, he's still overlapped and thus destroyed "properly" a second time, triggering the damage roll for the huge ship.

Either way, trying to figure this one out is likely to give you a headache of "epic" proportions. ;)

10 hours ago, Parravon said:

The only problem here is that the huge ship doesn't pause its manoeuvre to check for an overlap. The rule states the huge ship's final position , not anywhere along its path to that position. And I think the huge ship would only roll for damage once. Tel's ability states " The first time you would be destroyed, instead cancel any remaining damage...deal 4 damage cards... ", so the first time Tel is "destroyed" is more of a Technical Knock Out to trigger the ability. Regardless of Tel's current damage status, 4 damage cards are dealt and the ship remains in play. Unfortunately for Tel, he's still overlapped and thus destroyed "properly" a second time, triggering the damage roll for the huge ship.

Yes, this. I take back my wild theory and fully support this more carefully thought out approach.