Rule Questions:
1) Hero's league title says you can trade in rewards for runes once a turn... what exactly is a turn? one season or one year? Im assuming season but....
ANSWER: A player's turn is when he is resolving his order card during a season. Therefore, a player could use this up to 4 times per year (once per season during his turn).
2) , tactical retreat says "cancel a battle". Does that mean that the attacker, if he was mobilizing, could use his supremacy bonus to battle in another zone? Cancel battle implies that the battle never happened. I assume the activation marker remains.
ANSWER: Although the battle was cancelled he still may not start another battle.
3) The "Bound by honor" objective says that if all triangle units are allied to players you can discard the objective to gain one dragon rune. Last night I was playing and suddenly the triangle neutral units all were defeated. There was no city to place triangle units on the table.
So was the objective accomplished or not? Is it impossible to accomplish the objective? If so does the player just stick with his impossible objective. It would seem that it is still possible because contrary to other cards (giants and dragons) the card doesn't say that if it's impossible to achieve you get to discard it.
ANSWER: Yes, you have technically completed this objective if there are 0 triangle units in play.
4) When you attack an area that contains only an enemy stronghold, do you conduct battle? ie if you have the humans, and you have knights, or undead with necromancers, do you get to draw fate cards and possible get special results that give you tactic cards or reanimates?
also, does sending units into an empty enemy homeland constitute a battle? do you conduct all the steps of battle? including drawing fate cards and possibly gaining tactics cards and reanimates as discussed above
ANSWER: Whenever you enter an enemy area (even an area with 0 units), it starts a battle. This includes moving into an empty enemy home realm and an area containing only an enemy stronghold. I will add this to the next FAQ.
5) Bountiful Harvest, the Fall Season card that lets you adjust your dials based on areas you control. When this happens, do you get the bonuses from your developments? We've played NO, but then we get screwed by what seems to be a beneficially intended card. What about the exploration marker that increased a hex' resource? The card does not mention developments, just areas you control. But when you've recently harvested and gained all that plus your dev bonuses, the Bountiful Harvest doesn't seem so bountiful when it causes you to then LOWER your dials
ANSWER) You may NOT use developments when the Bountiful Harvest card is resolved. This includes ones that provide resources.
QUESTION 6: How many tactics cards can you play that say "play at the beginning of battle."? For example, at the beginning of a battle when I am attacked, can I play lightning, then blackmail, and then tactical retreat to do 4 damage, make my oppenent lose 2 in fluence and 2 tactics, and then retreat my guys to safety?
ANSWER: You may play any number of tactics cards at the start of battle. The only problem with you example is that tactical retreat and blackmail can only be used when you are DEFENDING.
7) The rules say you cant use a tactics card the same turn you draw them. What does a turn mean? Sounds like the same part of the season to me. Also, does taking a tactics card from another player (as the result of a tactics card) constitute "drawing a tactics card"? For example, I attack someone, and play a tactics card that lets me steal 2 random tactics cards from them. Can I play those 2 cards this turn?
ANSWER: A "player's turn" is defined as any time before, during or after resolving his order card. Therefore if he drew a tactic when resolving his order card, he could not use the tactic until the start of the next player's turn (if timing allows it).
"Drawing cards" includes any time that you gain new cards and add them to your hand. If you steal cards from an opponent, you may not play them until the current player's turn is over.