Doubt with squadron vs ship obstruction or another squadron

By Sharego, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

1 minute ago, Ardaedhel said:

*sigh*

Not LoS dot.

HULL ZONE.

The green line delineates the closest distance from the squadron's base (which is a circle, so the through the closest point passes through the center) to the opposing hull zone.

You then measure LoS from that point-- not from the center of the circle--to the yellow dot.

UCCTciC.jpg

1TQUjmO.jpg

And now I really am going to bed.

The we are in agreement: you trace from closest point on the squadron base to THE FRIKKIN YELLOW DOT! :D

9 minutes ago, Green Knight said:

The we are in agreement: you trace from closest point on the squadron base to THE FRIKKIN YELLOW DOT! :D

The closest point to the hull zone , which is not (usually) the same thing as the closest point to the yellow dot .

Edit: Oh, I see the confusion with this post now. Just... Just look at the picture I drew, lol.

Edited by Ardaedhel
I'm never getting to sleep tonight...
Just now, Ardaedhel said:

The closest point to the hull zone , which is not (usually) the same thing as the closest point to the yellow dot .

So with squads you trace base to hull zone, closest approach, completely ignoring the yellow dot that's used for other los checks?

Oh joy.

Who came up with these rules anyway :D

Ardaedhel was faster ;) .

It is a minor difference, but it is a difference. Especially when a squadron is nearly touching the ship. This can give some good shots with free line of sights even when it seems to be blocked.
On the ship you draw from the yellow dot. But on squadrons not.

It think you're wrong @Ardaedhel

LoS, 2nd bullet point: When tracing line of sight to or from a squadron, trace the line using the point of the squadron’s base that is closest to the opposing squadron or hull zone.

Nowhere does it say to ignore the yellow dot on the target hull zone.

Just now, Green Knight said:

It think you're wrong @Ardaedhel

LoS, 2nd bullet point: When tracing line of sight to or from a squadron, trace the line using the point of the squadron’s base that is closest to the opposing squadron or hull zone.

Nowhere does it say to ignore the yellow dot on the target hull zone.

Quite the contrary:

Bullet no. 3:

When tracing line of sight to or from a hull zone, trace the line using the yellow targeting point printed in that hull zone.

Time for Hawk-Eye in Armada:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hawk-Eye

That is the only way we will be able to verify all if this from now on.

I suggest the Armada Hawk-Eye variant is called the "Green Knight". In honor of the legend that allows all if these examples to actually happen. :)

6 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

The closest point to the hull zone , which is not (usually) the same thing as the closest point to the yellow dot .

Ah, now I understand what you're trying to say... please disregard my last 2 posts. We are in agreement after all.

Just now, Green Knight said:

Quite the contrary:

Bullet no. 3:

When tracing line of sight to or from a hull zone, trace the line using the yellow targeting point printed in that hull zone.

Look at the drawing again, my man. That's what I said. You're arguing about the wrong end of the line.

1 minute ago, Green Knight said:

It think you're wrong @Ardaedhel

LoS, 2nd bullet point: When tracing line of sight to or from a squadron, trace the line using the point of the squadron’s base that is closest to the opposing squadron or hull zone.

Nowhere does it say to ignore the yellow dot on the target hull zone.

You want to steal the well earned sleep for @Ardaedhel by pinging him? :P

The rules (if you think about it) is really smart done. The closest point from a squadron is meassured always to the affected hull zone. This way they can use it for everything without any extra wording. It just cause some strange lines in special cases.

2 minutes ago, Ardaedhel said:

Look at the drawing again, my man. That's what I said. You're arguing about the wrong end of the line.

Yeah, I only read what you wrote, and it seemed to say we disagreed. But actually you were just agreeing with me :D

Late to the party, but if you trace LOS over another ships plastic base, it obstructs right? So that picture Tokra shared with the ISD overlapping the asteroid would cause obstruction because it goes over the dial.

1 minute ago, Undeadguy said:

Late to the party, but if you trace LOS over another ships plastic base, it obstructs right? So that picture Tokra shared with the ISD overlapping the asteroid would cause obstruction because it goes over the dial.

Except you don't count dials for obstruction. What a convoluted rule.

34 minutes ago, Undeadguy said:

Late to the party, but if you trace LOS over another ships plastic base, it obstructs right? So that picture Tokra shared with the ISD overlapping the asteroid would cause obstruction because it goes over the dial.

The ships plastic does count. But the shield dial and the plastic on the shield dial do not count. Without the obstacle under the ISD the line of sight would not be obstructed, even when it goes over the shield dial from the ISD.

But the FAQ says: The shield dial does not affect the line of sight.

Intesting part on it: The FAQ refers to a ship in the way of the line of sight and this shield dial. It does not say anything about the shield dial of the attacker or defender. Maybe they are different from the shield dial between these two :P

2 minutes ago, Tokra said:

Intesting part on it: The FAQ refers to a ship in the way of the line of sight and this shield dial. It does not say anything about the shield dial of the attacker or defender. Maybe they are different from the shield dial between these two :P

You just had to add more confusion to this didn't you ;) . D*** it before today I thought I knew how LOS and obstruction worked. Now my head just hurts.

10 minutes ago, Tokra said:

The ships plastic does count. But the shield dial and the plastic on the shield dial do not count. Without the obstacle under the ISD the line of sight would not be obstructed, even when it goes over the shield dial from the ISD.

But the FAQ says: The shield dial does not affect the line of sight.

Intesting part on it: The FAQ refers to a ship in the way of the line of sight and this shield dial. It does not say anything about the shield dial of the attacker or defender. Maybe they are different from the shield dial between these two :P

I think I'm misremembering something.......

There was a discussion and an email about this a while back and I can't find it. But I think the email said if you trace LOS over another ships shield dial/plastic, it counts as obstruction. And something about the FAQ refers to the attacker and defender's shield dial and plastic.

Maybe @Drasnighta remembers. We had discussed if the plastic caused obstruction at all times, it would break the game because every attack would be obstructed.

Idk. It's early. I need coffee and I'll be very busy the next few days so I won't be able to respond to this.

Unless someone finds that thread, you can ignore what I said haha

9 minutes ago, Undeadguy said:

I think I'm misremembering something.......

There was a discussion and an email about this a while back and I can't find it. But I think the email said if you trace LOS over another ships shield dial/plastic, it counts as obstruction. And something about the FAQ refers to the attacker and defender's shield dial and plastic.

Maybe @Drasnighta remembers. We had discussed if the plastic caused obstruction at all times, it would break the game because every attack would be obstructed.

Idk. It's early. I need coffee and I'll be very busy the next few days so I won't be able to respond to this.

Unless someone finds that thread, you can ignore what I said haha

Want to top it? ;)
The plastic of the ship (not the shield dial) does count for obstruction as long as it is another ship. The plastic frame of the attacker and target does not count (would be hard if it would, all attacks would be obstruced this way).
But the ship plastic from other ships, that are in the line of sight, does count and can obstruct attacks.
And this is even in the FAQ.

I linked it already earlier, but here it is again, with a bit more marked parts.


Q: While measuring line of sight, if a ship is in the way , do its shield dials and their plastic frames affect line of sight in any way?
A: No. However, when determining line of sight, all of the other parts of a ship’s plastic base can obstruct line of sight .

This is what i would call a double edged rule.
And it could be the same with the shield dial. The ship in between does not count, but the attacker and target do count (in this case count as ship base and can block obstacles).

Quote

Q:While a ship is overlapping an obstacle and the attacking hull zone’s traced line of sight does not pass over a visible portion of that obstacle, or another obstacle or ship, is that attack obstructed?

A:No

This is the more important FAQ entry for this issue.

You sons of ******* kept me up til 3 in the morning last night (instead of the 2am I might have made...), and now I'm suffering for it at work today. I hope you're proud of yourselves @Tokra and @Green Knight . :)

In seriousness, sorry I was kind of all over the place in this. Was up late trying to get the house cleaned before the family gets home today and was, shall we say, punchy.

Thanks a lot I think I got it clear now.

From the closest part of the fighters to yellow dot.