ok im confused.
18: Collision states "After a unit performs a March or Shift action, if it is touching an obstacle that it was not touching before performing that action, it has collided with that obstacle
The initial consensus of this was you literally ignore obstacles you were already touching as you cant collide with them again. Moving through enemy units was negated due to Engaged cancelling any movement, but that didnt apply to terrain.
But, 55.5 says "If a unit would overlap an obstacle while moving, that unit’s movement is halted. Then, the unit slides backward along the movement template until it is touching the obstacle, but not overlapping it. The unit collides with that obstacle"
And the FAQ says:
Q: If a unit collides with a terrain piece and does not occupy
it, can that unit move through that terrain if it begins the
next turn touching that terrain?
A: No. If a unit would overlap an obstacle while moving, that
unit’s movement is halted
So basically if you touched a terrain piece and you lack a way of shifting backwards or occupying the terrain, you're stuck? Initially i thought you could pass through terrain you were already touching to avoid that issue, it just ate your turn (and you cant be overlapping it when you stop)
The terrain rules in this game are very confusing. This feels like one of those situations where it sounds contradicting but because of a poorly explained keyword it actually isnt contradicting itself.
Its like, you cant collide with something you were already touching...but you still collide with it if you try to move over it without actually "colliding" ... wtf?