Movement and Collision

By Vineheart01, in Runewars Rules Questions

ok im confused.

18: Collision states "After a unit performs a March or Shift action, if it is touching an obstacle that it was not touching before performing that action, it has collided with that obstacle

The initial consensus of this was you literally ignore obstacles you were already touching as you cant collide with them again. Moving through enemy units was negated due to Engaged cancelling any movement, but that didnt apply to terrain.

But, 55.5 says "If a unit would overlap an obstacle while moving, that unit’s movement is halted. Then, the unit slides backward along the movement template until it is touching the obstacle, but not overlapping it. The unit collides with that obstacle"

And the FAQ says:

Q: If a unit collides with a terrain piece and does not occupy
it, can that unit move through that terrain if it begins the

next turn touching that terrain?

A: No. If a unit would overlap an obstacle while moving, that
unit’s movement is halted

So basically if you touched a terrain piece and you lack a way of shifting backwards or occupying the terrain, you're stuck? Initially i thought you could pass through terrain you were already touching to avoid that issue, it just ate your turn (and you cant be overlapping it when you stop)

The terrain rules in this game are very confusing. This feels like one of those situations where it sounds contradicting but because of a poorly explained keyword it actually isnt contradicting itself.
Its like, you cant collide with something you were already touching...but you still collide with it if you try to move over it without actually "colliding" ... wtf?

Edited by Vineheart01

You cannot move over terrain, you must move around it or occupy it.

Edit: Unless you are a Wraith, in which case you have a special ability to ignore terrain and other units while moving!

Edited by Contrapulator

You'd need to Reform to then later move away from the terrain. It's effectively taking you out of the fight for many turns. Terrain can be brutal in this game

Yes, it can be brutal. In one of my first games my friend ran his Oathsworn Cavalry directly into the edge of the map, and quickly realized they were now stuck there for the rest of the game!

1 minute ago, Contrapulator said:

Yes, it can be brutal. In one of my first games my friend ran his Oathsworn Cavalry directly into the edge of the map, and quickly realized they were now stuck there for the rest of the game!

Too late to reform and move after?

Terrain indeed matters I like the impact compared to say Armada.

11 minutes ago, Click5 said:

You'd need to Reform to then later move away from the terrain. It's effectively taking you out of the fight for many turns. Terrain can be brutal in this game

But doesnt Reform follow the same restrictions as movement?

That being, you dont magically pick up and place down the tray, but "spin in place" and if it bumps anything well crap cant go any further that way.

1 minute ago, Vineheart01 said:

But doesnt Reform follow the same restrictions as movement?

That being, you dont magically pick up and place down the tray, but "spin in place" and if it bumps anything well crap cant go any further that way.

Nope. You pick up the trays then rotate. There's a diagram in the Learn To Play book. In fact, the Learn To play book has better and more clear explanations than the RRG for many topics.

well ive been doing that wrong then.

Main issue is oathsworn. If they bump terrain in a way where rotating went over the terrain, they were stuck indefinitely unless they could just flatout ignore the terrain the 2nd move.
But if they can reform as long as their final spot isnt overlapping, that just kills a couple turns but they arent stuck.

Always assumed the "obstacle you were not touching" clause to avoid that scenario.

3 minutes ago, Vineheart01 said:

Always assumed the "obstacle you were not touching" clause to avoid that scenario.

I was actually kind of shocked rereading the Collision section in the RRG just now. It really isn't very clear at all.

It's really a very common sense rule, people just need to remember that RR18 only describes one type of collision, and there are other collision triggers in the book (like overlapping).

You can still collide with something you are touching IF you overlap it as part of a shift or march.

Yes, it's weirdly spread over the RRG, but the end rule is simple.

If you overlap, you collide. If you end a movement touching something you weren't touching before, you collide. You can't collide as the result of a reform. Boom. Done.

slightly related:

if you collide, you dont forfeit the bonus dial correct? I.e. you dialed in a reform, but you hit a rock with the march you just did. you still reform, correct?
Not seeing anything about that but i seem to remember reading it somewhere.

(i'm finding a lot of rules i botched up in my hiatus of playing this game, or mixing with other games)

Edited by Vineheart01
1 hour ago, Vineheart01 said:

slightly related:

if you collide, you dont forfeit the bonus dial correct? I.e. you dialed in a reform, but you hit a rock with the march you just did. you still reform, correct?
Not seeing anything about that but i seem to remember reading it somewhere.

(i'm finding a lot of rules i botched up in my hiatus of playing this game, or mixing with other games)

That's correct, I don't see anything that says otherwise. 14.2 "A unit can perform it's bonus action even if its first action was cancelled" kind of reinforces the point.

3 hours ago, Click5 said:

Nope. You pick up the trays then rotate. There's a diagram in the Learn To Play book. In fact, the Learn To play book has better and more clear explanations than the RRG for many topics.

This. It took us a while to figure out you pick the unit up off the table rotate it then put it back down. We had been paying incorrectly that you rotate it in place and continue to hit the terrain.

Yep just pick up the unit and place it back down with same central point -ensuring there is actually room for the unit and it's not touching anything.

14 hours ago, Asmo said:

Yep just pick up the unit and place it back down with same central point -ensuring there is actually room for the unit and it's not touching anything.

If it was engaged, it still needs to be engaged, along the same edge if the opponent it was in before.

On ‎9‎/‎13‎/‎2017 at 9:24 AM, rowdyoctopus said:

If it was engaged, it still needs to be engaged, along the same edge if the opponent it was in before.

Pretty sure they're talking about terrain in this thread, more so than people.

27 minutes ago, Curlycross said:

Pretty sure they're talking about terrain in this thread, more so than people.

Other units and terrain fall under the same category of obstacles and you can be touching both. Since touching is a game term it is slightly misleading to say flat out you can't be touching anything after reforming. Just making sure all the info is out there.

13 minutes ago, rowdyoctopus said:

Other units and terrain fall under the same category of obstacles and you can be touching both. Since touching is a game term it is slightly misleading to say flat out you can't be touching anything after reforming. Just making sure all the info is out there.

Makes sense!