Clawdite questions

By brettpkelly, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

1. Conspire: For each surge result, you or an adjacent friendly figure gains one wild power token.

If you roll 2 surges do you have to give both power tokens to the same figure, or can you split them up? (I assume you can split them up or it would be worded differently)

2. Shape: When you are deployed, you may gain 1 Form card of your choice from the supply

Since the ability specifically mentions "the supply" I assume there are a limited number of each Form card available. However, the next ability "Shift" says "At the start of each round, you may switch your Form card with 1 other Form card of your choice" with no mention of "the supply". I suppose this question is more speculation, will I be able to start the game with 4 regular Clawdites, all in Senator form or not?

1. For each surge result:

1st surge: you or an adjacent friendly figure gains 1 e.

2nd surge: you or an adjacent friendly figure gains 1 e .

2. The article says "three different form cards".

Edited by a1bert
22 minutes ago, brettpkelly said:

I suppose this question is more speculation, will I be able to start the game with 4 regular Clawdites, all in Senator form or not?

The Senator and Streetrat cards, the only form cards revealed thus far, are both unique. So only one can be in Senator form.

22 minutes ago, a1bert said:

you or an adjacent friendly figure gains 1 e.

LOL, apparently the whole font gets copied when you copy-paste stuff with "formatting" .

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz

012345

Edited by a1bert

Since the Clawdite forms are unique, do they count as "villains"?

And can you use only one in a mission? IE - the senator dies, can you bring back a senator?

They aren't villains. Under Allies in the RRG it states:

All figures corresponding to unique Imperial Deployment cards (such as “Darth Vader”) are villains.

The key here is that Form cards are not Deployment cards (though they do supplement them).

The RRG also states under Defeated:

During a campaign, when the last Imperial figure in a non-unique group is defeated, the Deployment card is returned to the Imperial player’s hand and can be optionally deployed later in the mission.

Only Deployment cards are specified as is the Imperial player's hand, whereas we know from the Clawdite Deployment card that Form cards exist in "the supply" as opposed to the IP's hand. The HOTE rules don't seem specify where they cards go when the figure is defeated, it does say that only one of each card can be in play at the same time, so they can be reused. HOTE rules, under Clawdites Shapeshifters:

If there are multiple Clawdite Shapeshifters in play, only 1 copy of each Clawdite Shapeshifter Form card can be in play at the same time. During a skirmish, only 1 copy can be in play in each army instead.

In campaign it doesn't really make sense to say that if a Clawdite shifted so another Clawdite can use that form, but if a Clawdite died then the form is lost to all Clawdites.

In Skrimish... there might be an argument. I mean, it's not like you're frequently redeploying them and that last sentence could certainly confuse things. Though I would think it's just a clarification to say both you and your opponent can use the Senator form card at the same time, whereas in Campaign only one can be used at a given time, it could probably be further clarified.

Ah, well, I'm using Nemeses and grasping at straws. Thanks.

The forms are unique, but the forms are not deployment groups / figures.

One of the original questions was not answered, and I'm curious as well.

Shift: At the start of each round, you may switch your Form card with 1 other Form card of your choice.

As @brettpkelly stated, there is no mention of "the Supply" on this ability. Could you swap Form cards between Clawdites already in play? Additionally, could you choose to remove your form? (When deployed it says "...you may gain..." leading to believe you could stay formless)

Yes, you can switch any two Form cards. In effect you redistribute the form cards to your remaining Clawdite Shapeshifter figures still in play.

There's no benefit in running without Form, so I don't think we need an answer to the latter.

Edited by a1bert

I was wondering the same thing: can the form be swapped with another clawdite?

The interesting point is that Shift is determined at the start of each round so effectively you decide what each one will be at the same time and they are locked for the whole round. Even if you can deploy mid-round (Agent Blaise style), Shape means you’d have to take an unused form from the supply instead of from an in play clawdite.

What I truly don’t get is why four figures and only three deployment cards and three form cards. What

5 hours ago, Marcus2410 said:

What I truly don’t get is why four figures and only three deployment cards and three form cards. What

There are three forms for three deployment cards.

(Note that the announcement article said 3 hero and 13 other figures, so there had to be 16 figures in the box.)

Edited by a1bert
On 11/19/2017 at 8:18 AM, Marcus2410 said:

What I truly don’t get is why four figures and only three deployment cards and three form cards. What

I know. Frustrating.

Would have loved for that 4th shapeshifter to be Salacious B Crumb..

Although I haven't read through the missions yet ('cause you aren't supposed to in the HotE campaign), I remember someone somewhere (here on this forum even?) mentioned that the reason for the 4th Clawdite is... [huge campaign spiler ahead; do not click if you mind being spoiled]

... because one mission reveals one of the heroes to be a Clawdite in disguise, prompting the need of a 4th figure to replace the hero-figure.



I have no idea if this is actually true, but someone said it somewhere.

Edited by angelman2