Open Groups - How many of each deployment

By wannabepudge, in Imperial Assault Rules Questions

I don't have the campaign rules in front of me, and couldn't find it in the Learn to Play guide, but how many of each deployment can the Imperial bring to the Open Groups? I'm been told as many as the expansion provides, but what about when the figures come in packs? Are you only limited to what comes in the packs?

I can't say I recall reading this limitation, but its always referenced as fact in my play group.

This is of course barring house rules.

1) In the campaign you are limited by figures in the boxed expansions. For example two regular and one elite stormtrooper group.

2) each pack tells how they are integrated. Each current non-unique pack is limited to their deployment cards (regular and elite), i.e. two packs worth of figures, except you can only have one Bantha Rider. Uniques are naturally limited to one, whether villains or unique allies.

Some links.

https://boardgamegeek.com/article/24957187#24957187

As far as I can determine, the core rules do not say anything about expansions, only that you can use components from 1 core only in the Component Limitations section.



Each expansion defines the limitations. The General Weiss pack does not have a limitation text, so you could use 2 AT-ST and General Weiss at the same time if you have 1 pack, and even more AT-ST's because the rulesheet in the pack does not limit you to 1 pack.

Other wave 1 and wave 2 packs are either unique or rebel allies, so they do not need a Component Limitations chapter. Their use is naturally limited to 1 pack.

The first packs with Component Limitations are Hired Guns and Stormtrooper villain pack from wave 3. The Stormtrooper pack does not increase the number of Stormtrooper groups you can use in the campaign, you are still limited to one elite and 2 regular groups. Hired Guns are limited to deployment cards in one pack, i.e. two packs worth of figures. This applies to later non-unique villain packs too - the Bantha Rider is an exception to this like in so many other ways - only one Bantha Rider can be used in the campaign.

Admitted, getting even two AT-ST's and General Weiss into play at the same time is an achievement unlocked .


https://boardgamegeek.com/article/25871739#25871739

Edited by a1bert

There are only 4 miniatures of Pirate weequay.

if a mission has elite pirates as reserved group, can I take Two regular pirates as open group?

If the box has two regular Weequay Pirates deployment cards . It does, so you can take two regulars. (edit: unless there is any Weequay Pirate group in Reserved groups.)

Edited by a1bert

Thanks, this is the situation.

2 Elite Pirate Weequay are on map (Reserved group)

I have 10 threat. I have in my hand 2 regular Pirate weequay (4 pirates), but only 2 miniatures left. Does it means I can't deploy two regular pirate weequay?

Edited by Eyfrosyne

As I understand it, in the box you have 4 Pirate Weequay figures, but you have 2 regular Pirate Weequay cards (each one has 2 figures) and 1 elite Pirate Weequay card (also 2 figures).

First, you shouldn't have a map with 2 Elite Pirate Weequay groups (or maybe you meant figures ?), because there is only 1 elite card in the box

Then, if you mean 2 Elite Pirate Weequay figures, yes you can take 2 regular Pirate Weeqyay groups. But you will miss 2 figures (I don't understand why they give only 4 figures also you should have 6). So you need to use tokens for the two missing figures.

Edit : I just noticed there's the same problem with Gamorrean Guards... 3 groups (two regulars, one elite) for a total of 6 figures, but only 4 figures in the box. Has FFG became mingy ?

Edited by Le Jedi Fou
4 minutes ago, Le Jedi Fou said:

As I understand it, in the box you have 4 Pirate Weequay figures, but you have 2 regular Pirate Weequay cards (each one has 2 figures) and 1 elite Pirate Weequay card (also 2 figures).

First, you shouldn't have a map with 2 Elite Pirate Weequay groups (or maybe you meant figures ?), because there is only 1 elite card in the box

Then, if you mean 2 Elite Pirate Weequay figures, yes you can take 2 regular Pirate Weeqyay groups. But you will miss 2 figures (I don't understand why they give only 4 figures also you should have 6). So you need to use tokens for the two missing figures.

The rules say you're limited to the number of figures and deployment cards. So this is wrong. You can have 2 regular groups of weequays or 1 regular and 1 elite. If one is reserved, you can only bring one other group into open groups.

Right

On Component Limitations :

In a campaign, players are limited to the number of figures included in the game. For example, the Imperial player is limited to six regular and three elite Stormtrooper figures, even if he owns multiple copies of the game.

Edited by Le Jedi Fou
10 minutes ago, Le Jedi Fou said:

Right

On Component Limitations :

In a campaign, players are limited to the number of figures included in the game. For example, the Imperial player is limited to six regular and three elite Stormtrooper figures, even if he owns multiple copies of the game.

Note that that only applies to the core. Each expansion has its own ammendment. Jabba's Realm specifically refers to number of figures AND deployment cards. Thereby preventing you from bringing in two elite weequay pirates or one elite and two regulars. You can only bring in two groups and at most one elite group.

The figure packs often have their own wording. And not always the same.

Edited by neosmagus

Ah, I missed some information. If there is an elite (or regular) weequay group in reserved groups, you can only take 1 regular (or elite if the reserved group is regular).

You always reserve Reserved groups first before choosing your open groups.

Edited by a1bert

Thank you! :)

4 hours ago, neosmagus said:

Note that that only applies to the core. Each expansion has its own ammendment. Jabba's Realm specifically refers to number of figures AND deployment cards. Thereby preventing you from bringing in two elite weequay pirates or one elite and two regulars. You can only bring in two groups and at most one elite group.

Can you point to the page in the Jabba's Realm rulebook ? Could not find it

8 minutes ago, Le Jedi Fou said:

Can you point to the page in the Jabba's Realm rulebook ? Could not find it

Jabba said:

Note: In a campaign, players are limited to the number of figures
and Deployment cards included in this expansion. For example,
the Imperial player is limited to simultaneously using two Jet
Trooper groups and only one of those groups can be elite, even if
he owns multiple copies of this expansion.

Edited by a1bert

I'm not next to my gaming supplies at the moment. Does anyone know what the Hired Guns limitations are? Am I limited to only 1 regular deployment and 1 elite in my open groups?

Thanks for all the information. I hadn't realized that the packs specify campaign limitations like that.

Yes. One regular and one elite Hired Gun group in the campaign.

3 hours ago, Le Jedi Fou said:

Can you point to the page in the Jabba's Realm rulebook ? Could not find it

The section under adding the expansion to the rest of the game. It took me a while to find as well.