Rules questions

By Wuytackc, in Runewars Rules Questions

Hi,

Have some questions :

1. Melee attack : My melee troops are in close combat with their front arc with Kari.

IMG_2553.JPG

Kari's doing before the attack of my troops (initiative) Wraith Step and ends at the back of my unit.

IMG_2552.JPG.9bec4cf7a63b39d06d2d349b703e318e.JPG

Then my troops got the attack on the command tool, but Kari is in the back of my troops...

Can my troops still do a melee attack ?

So can you do a melee attack if your not facing the opponent ?

Can i use my bonus action?

Can't find it in the rulebook...

2. Melee attack : Can you use accurancy symbol when she's in the back rank fighting and my necromancer is in the front ? (even if she's not in contact with the necromancer...?)

IMG_2554.JPG.8f391ea5ca787efbbd03dc211903f9c6.JPG

...other Questions will follow... ;-)

Thanks 'n Greetzzz,

Christophe

Edited by Wuytackc
  1. Flanking: Rules Reference 41.1 "When the flanked unit performs an attack, against the flanking unit, the flanked unit does not receive any rerolls for having additional ranks." So yes, even if your front edge isn't touching the enemy unit, you can perform a melee attack. In this case, your Reanimates have no rerolls anyway, so it doesn't matter so much that Kari flanked them...except that she will get a bonus die when she attacks them.
  2. Yes, she can target the Necromancer. Maybe somebody else will have a better rule to reference, but this is the best I could come up with:
    Damage: Rules Reference 22.3 "Damage can only be assigned to figures in the backmost rank of the unit."
    and
    22.5 "When performing an attack, the attacker can spend any number of accuracy icons to allow him to assign damage to figure upgrades that cannot normally be assigned damage."
    So when Kari uses an accuracy icon to assign damage to a figure upgrade, it really doesn't matter where she is in relation to that figure in the unit she is attacking. You're right, the instructions don't seem to be very explicit about this, but that's how it's played. Maybe somebody else can shed further light on this matter.

The front and back-most ranks are always determined by the facing of the unit and do not change depending on which edge is in contact with the enemy unit. Also, it's important to note that ranks are the trays , not figures. The reanimates pictured have only 1 rank, which is both the front rank and the back-most rank. The necromancer is in the back-most rank and Kari can assign damage to him normally without needing to spend accuracy.

In this scenario, your threat did not change since its always the contact edge that determines it.
However, if you had any rank-based rerolls (such as Rank Discipline or a 2x2 block in other situations) you lose those rerolls. I dont think a 2x1 of reanimates can get rerolls so this literally didnt affect you for this round, but she'll get an extra die next round since shes flanking you now.

Attacks can be made any direction, but unless they are head on "front edge to front edge" someone is being flanked which imposes the rules linked above in parakitor's post

Regardless of where she is, damage is still assigned to the back rank of your unit. This is tray-based, not row based, so she could hit your necromancer right now even w/o any accuracies. Accuracies let you ignore any "cannot" when allocating wounds.

Ok thanks...

On the cards of the units you see a tray configuration... by 2, 4, 6,... trays/points.

i'm chosing 4 trays of infantery undead.

Do i need to put them 2x2 like marked on the unit card OR can i choose to put them 4x1...?

Thanks

42 minutes ago, Wuytackc said:

Ok thanks...

On the cards of the units you see a tray configuration... by 2, 4, 6,... trays/points.

i'm chosing 4 trays of infantery undead.

Do i need to put them 2x2 like marked on the unit card OR can i choose to put them 4x1...?

Thanks

Yes, arrange them how it's shown on the card. The line indicates the front of the unit.

Owk, battle question...

Runewars1.thumb.jpg.c10cb7a0a76d83af7f5cad343d40f750.jpg

With Maro i did range attack on command tool and surge as modifier...

But, Maro can't shoot at any target right now, is de modifier activated for reducing his wounds?

Thanks

If you occupy a graveyard, do you take every turn two panic tokens?

do undead take panic tokens from a graveyard...?

1 hour ago, Wuytackc said:

If you occupy a graveyard, do you take every turn two panic tokens?

do undead take panic tokens from a graveyard...?

Taxing only applies when a unit collides with the terrain, so you're safe while occupying.

3 hours ago, Wuytackc said:

Owk, battle question...

Runewars1.thumb.jpg.c10cb7a0a76d83af7f5cad343d40f750.jpg

With Maro i did range attack on command tool and surge as modifier...

But, Maro can'it shoot at any target right now, is de modifier activated for reducing his wounds?

Thanks

You must be able to make an attack to use surge abilities. If he can't attack a target, he has nothing to enhance with his surge modifier, so it does nothing. So no, he cannot heal.