Immobility

By Doucha, in Talisman Rules Questions

This spell apears to have been nerfed. It used to be 'Cast As Required' now it's Cast at the start of a characters turn. But IF cast on a creature you can evade it....This makes it annoying how do you play it?

You would really like to land on the plains, 3 squares away that has Solomons Crown on it, but it's guarded by a dragon. Do you have to cast the spell on the dragon before you roll, hoping that you get a 3, and can therfore evade him. If you roll a 4, you have just wasted your spell and given the opportunity for somebody else to go there and evade the Immobolised Dragon.

Or can you roll to see if you get the 3, and then cast in on the dragon, before you actually move. If you roll a 4, you save your spell and don't waste it.

Old School rules you could land on the dragon and then cast it. In fact of a dragon jumped out on you, and you fought it and lost, we'd always play that you could still immobolise it, symbolising your spell casting freezing the creature in it's death blow.

But with all this new nerfing going on, it's hard to keep up.
I talk nerfing as I'm used to 2nd edition and playing many years ago, the new 4th edition I believe still had this, before the Upgraded FFG version nerfed it and made quite a number of things... lame.

The two paragraps are meant to be separate from one another.

#1: If you cast against another char, must cast at the start of the turn.

#2: You can cast it in an encounter vs a Creature to Evade.

the way i see it (and i believe is in the rules)

you roll dice for movement, then choose which way you intend to move (you still havent moved yet, just rolled)

then you cast your spell and move

Thus I believe you should be able to roll, if a 3 cast imobility, if not save it.

Dam said:

The two paragraps are meant to be separate from one another.

#1: If you cast against another char, must cast at the start of the turn.

#2: You can cast it in an encounter vs a Creature to Evade.

The reason why you must use Immobility as per #1 is to avoid Characters to be Immobilized when it generates confusing situations. I remember my Druid casting Psyonic Blast on the Sentinel, being Counterspelled, counter-spell the Counterspell with another Counterspell, rolling the die and winning the combat, then getting Immobilized. I'm glad that such messes cannot happen again.

I know that the new text is misleading, but the problem was clarified a long time ago. Why is it not included in the FAQ?

The_Warlock said:

I know that the new text is misleading, but the problem was clarified a long time ago. Why is it not included in the FAQ?

I’m terrible with names but I think I remember this one. Is that the “You can do nothing except cast counterspell”? My wife was all…

“RIIIIGHT. So I can miss my turn, or… ONLY cast counterspell and STILL miss my turn.”

The home rule that stuck was that ONLY counterspell will work on that spell. No reflect. No other Anti-spell thing, current or future. No card space instruction. Counterspell. Period. Highland comes with “Super Spell Negation” spell? Great. Doesn’t work on it because it’s not counterspell. But, if you DO counterspell, take your turn as normal.

Obviously the boards came up with something better, and I hadn’t read that far at the time, but I think we’ll stick with our home rule. Makes the card a little more potent.