Either X or Y clarification

By JYoder, in Rules questions & answers

I've read the FAQ (1.44) regarding "either X or Y" but unclear regarding particular Treachery. The "Cornered" treachery in Trouble in Tharbad says, "When Revealed: The first player either removes 1 time counter from the current quest or each enemy gets -20 engagement cost and +1 attack until the end of the round."

There are no enemies in play. So can I choose the latter? It seems I'm performing the effect "in full" as 1.44 says -- there just happens to be 0 enemies... but not sure.

You can choose the second one and it won't do anything. I agree with that that is not always clear when you can perform or not an effect.

Mmmmm, careful: "each" in this game has to refer to >=1 instance. This was previously discussed here, among other places:

The relevant official ruling is cited therein.

On the other hand, Cornered creates a lasting effect, so it can be argued it successfully can be resolved even with 0 enemies in play. See the ruling for Treacherous Fog in that same thread.

4 hours ago, NathanH said:

On the other hand, Cornered creates a lasting effect, so it can be argued it successfully can be resolved even with 0 enemies in play. See the ruling for Treacherous Fog in that same thread.

Indeed it can be argued, which is why I was mindful not to say that the issue was open and shut. I think it's worth an official query, though personally I have always played the situation according to Arkham's Razor. After all, I CAN always choose the worse one, ha.