Thweek Mirror Match

By GLEXOR, in X-Wing Rules Questions

3 hours ago, Magnus Grendel said:

On a related note; what would happen if you assigned 'Mimicked' to an IG-88? The ship counts as having 2 (or 4 in an epic game with all of them) pilot abilities - does Thweek get all of them?

You get the pilot ability of the IG-88 that you mimicked and it stops there.

3 hours ago, thespaceinvader said:

RAW, you get both abilities. What the FAQ will say, who knows.

Thweeks going to need his own freaking chapter.

It is not IG-88's pilot ability that allows him to use the ability of the others, it is the IG-2000 title card:

"You have the pilot ability of each other friendly ship with the IG-2000 Upgrade card ( in addition to your own pilot ability )."

There is a distinction between the pilot's ability (the one being mimicked) and the ability granted by the title. I seem to remember an old rule clarification that if IG-88 was dealt the Injured pilot card from the old core set (all players must ignore your pilot ability...), the afflicted IG-88 lost his ability, but was still able to use the one granted to it by the title.

Not that it's really worth going into detail: IG-88s are almost never seen and when they are, you can bet that one of them will be IG-88 B, which has an ability that cannot be mimicked by a Starviper anyway.

Mimicked: "Thweek" is treated as having your pilot ability.

IG2000: You have the pilot ability of each other friendly ship with the IG-2000 Upgrade card (in addition to your own pilot ability).

If Thweek doesn't copy both pilot abilities, then Mimicked just never does anything. The wording is functionally identical. The 'in addition to your own' wording just makes it clear that the ability IG2000 is copying doesn't overwrite the original. And as you rightly suggest, it's pretty much entirely a moot point anyway.

Edited by thespaceinvader

The thought of copying IG-88-D just makes me happy, though. It wouldn't really be that good, but it just makes me smile.

Another example against the conditions working for both thweeks. Look at the Ghost/Phantom. The Phantom title just says "While you are docked, the Ghost may..." giving the rear arc and extra turret shot. It says nothing about the ghost it's specifically docked to, or YOUR ghost, just "while you are docked". So if I bring a ghost, and my opponent also brings a ghost, and I undock my phantom round 1, do I still get the rear arc and free turret shots all game as long as my opponent keeps his phantom docked? No I don't. And I've never seen anyone argue that I should. Same thing for thweek

24 minutes ago, VanderLegion said:

Another example against the conditions working for both thweeks. Look at the Ghost/Phantom. The Phantom title just says "While you are docked, the Ghost may..." giving the rear arc and extra turret shot. It says nothing about the ghost it's specifically docked to, or YOUR ghost, just "while you are docked". So if I bring a ghost, and my opponent also brings a ghost, and I undock my phantom round 1, do I still get the rear arc and free turret shots all game as long as my opponent keeps his phantom docked? No I don't. And I've never seen anyone argue that I should. Same thing for thweek

I see, you are probably right, but I would still like an FAQ about it.

On 9/1/2017 at 1:45 PM, GLEXOR said:

neither card specifies which Thweek gets the ability/pilot skill,

Aw, sweet. My new anti-Captain Rex tech is to run my own Captain Rex and then, as soon as Suppressive Fire is going to be a problem, I will fly off the board. Captain Rex was destroyed. Doesn't say which Captain Rex! Begun the Clone Wars have!

um, no. it obviously refers to the pilot that put that condition into play and no other. please don't be silly.