Formation Question

By CodyMac, in Runewars Rules Questions

When I first watched demos of this game, it was stated that a person might choose to have a wide formation for more threat or a deep formation of trays for more re-rolls. However, when I bought the game and looked at the back of the unit cards, it looks like I am locked into certain formations based on the number of trays I'm bringing to the table. Can anyone clarify?

Thanks!

You pick your formation size during your list building process, since each one has an associated cost. There's an exception however for the Daqan-- if Lord Hawthorne is in your list as a standalone hero - he allows you to reconfigure your trays before the match starts (with restrictions)

Right, but don't you have to stick to the formation on the back of the unit card?

Also some units have a couple options for example the Crossbowmen have a 3x1 option (threat) or a 2x2 option (rerolls). Also like Glucose stated Lord Hawthorne can change the 2x2 Oathsworn into 4x1.

So I couldn't take, for instance, four trays of human cavalry and go four wide with them? (per the back of the card)

18 minutes ago, CodyMac said:

So I couldn't take, for instance, four trays of human cavalry and go four wide with them? (per the back of the card)

Correct, you must choose a formation listed on the card. However, there is a Daqan hero that lets you break this rule:

rwm06_cardfan_unit_2x.png

40 minutes ago, CodyMac said:

Right, but don't you have to stick to the formation on the back of the unit card?

Yeah, sorry I wasn't clear. You pick the *exact* formation on the card.