Question about ability of Ackbar

By Covettamarco, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

Hi, I'm a new in armada. My question is if Ackbar's ability can be used for any friendly ship in every attack he makes from his sides or once per turn?

I guess it can be used in all attacks of ships as long as they fire from the side, but would clarify that it is once per turn (as they do in Rieekan in faq's).

Thank's for your help and sorry for my english.

Hello there and welcome!

Ackbar's ability can be used for any friendly ship in every attack it makes from its sides... provided that the ship only fires from its sides.

Also please bear in mind that the two red dice are only added after rolling the initial attack. So if the initial attack was cancelled because of obstruction or because it was out of range (e.g. only blue dice at long range) then Ackbar does nothing.

Also, GR-75s cannot use Ackbar for the same reason DiabloAzul said. The flotilla cannot form an attack pool so the attack is cancelled.

Also, the sides don't have to be different. Gunnery teams allow you to add two red on both attacks from the same side.

I add it here as a old question about the same topic knowing you are new.

Welcome btw.

...And if only to stress what the others have said thus far, it ONLY applies if the ship in question ONLY fires from it's side hulls in that round. For instance, you cannot use Ackbars ability before OR after you choose to make a shot out of your front or back hull zone.

Ackbar must be chosen, Before its attack step. So reveal your dial, decide if you want dial or token, resolve engineering and/or squadron, as applicable.... THEN decide on Ackbar.

At which point, you can only choose side arcs to attack from, from that ship... But the bonus only applies when attacking a ship... the restriction applies even to anti squadron attacks, but you get no bonus on them.