Prophetess and Dungeon Cards

By Doucha, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hey all I recently got the Dungeon Expansion.

Clearly Dungeon Cards are not Adventure Cards - so my immediate ruling on this was to say that the Prophetess CANNOT use her ability to draw another card when she's drawing Dungeon Cards.
However halfway through the first game we got some monster int he Dungeon - it's name eludes me now (sorry I'm at work), a big ball smasher thing, which, has some extra text.

It says (something like) - 'if you do not defeat it, it goes on a rampage - roll a dice for each ADVENTURE CARD, on a 1 or 2 it is destroyed'
Now this caused us to all fight each other (as Talisman usually does) - h

Why would a monster which is a Dungeon Card monster, most likely 95% of the time to be drawn IN the Dungeon have text that read it destroys Adventure Cards?
There would never hardly be ANY Adventure Cards in the dungeon (unless there's a dropped sword or something). Making the text redundent 80% of the time.

This led us to believe that it must A) be a typo and should read Dungeon Cards or B), Adventure Cards and Dungeon Cards are the same thing - they're just in two sperate piles for region specific stuff.

HOWEVER.. I just checked out the 'new' FAQ and it says there:

Dark Denizens
Q: Can the Prophetess use her ability if the Dark Denizens
Event is in effect?
A: Yes. After the Prophetess draws a Dungeon Card, she may
discard it and draw another Dungeon Card to replace it.

This confuses matters - it sort f indicates that she can 'treat' the new Dungeon Cards as Adventure Cards because it's an effect and she's not actually in the Dungeon - which means that USUEALLY she wouldn't be able to use her ability on Dungeon Cards?
This takes us back to my original ruling and therefore the Monster Smashey thing is a typo - or is a bit lame as it'll only destroy droped items inthe dugoen OR by miniscule chance be drawn under Dark Denizens where it will have a big impact.

So I'm happy to just say it's a typo - I tried looking at the FAQ posts, but that was mostly people arguing about encoutering a character on the Cursed Glade or Dewsert and not dying - so after 3 pages or arguing I decided to leave that post and just try to get a few quick thoughts/answers from the majority.

Cheers for your thoughts

I would add that after the ball smasher thing we started playing allowing the Prothetess to draw another Dungeon Card inthe Dungeon... this until I recently (like yesterday) read the FAQ...

Dungeon rules, page 10:

"Special abilities and effects that apply to Adventure Cards behave differently when characters are in the Dungeon Region rather than the Outer, Middle, or Inner Regions. When used within the Dungeon Region, these special abilities and effects apply to cards from the Dungeon deck instead.

For example, the Prophetess’s special ability states that whenever
she draws Adventure Cards, she may discard one card of her choice and draw one more card to replace it. While the Prophetess is in the Outer, Middle, or Inner Region, her ability applies to cards from the Adventure deck. However, while she is in the Dungeon Region her ability applies to cards from the Dungeon deck instead."

Dam is right. Any ability, character or card, that says "Adventure Card(s)" will apply, if necessary, to "Dungeon Cards." On that note, I expect the same to happen with any "Highland" cards.

See the dungeon cards as a sort of adventure cards when you are in the dungeon.

It works the same, but the Dungeon cards are only for the Dungeon ( except if someone draws Dark Denizens on the mainboard etc

If a Gate Smasher is drawn for the mainboard, while Dark Denizens is active, then you can also destroy the adventure cards on that board.

Cheers for the clear up guys :)