Thrawn I guess I'll start

By Darth Sanguis, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

14 minutes ago, Norell said:

My two cents: The ship don't get the dial revealed, but you can temporarily add it to its stack in whatever place you want. can be the first or the last. And once you reveal it, you don't have to reset it.

This is not how it works no. You get Thwarn dial before you even activate your ship. Then you activate your ship as normal and reveal a dial. This was already established by the person that came up with the card. This part is worded well enough to not confuse anyone.

Silly question - is it possible that the dial goes to the bottom of the stack instead of the top?

Just now, FoaS said:

Silly question - is it possible that the dial goes to the bottom of the stack instead of the top?

:)

It is a silly question, since the designer of the Card has already given us the RAI to support the RAW of it being resolved alongside...

(Sorry mate :D )

Essentially, if it were going to be added to the stack, you'd have to have it specified top or bottom... Because the regular rules have you assigning them to the bottom, but this doesn't state to use the regular assigning rules.

Yeah, I just caught this earlier in the thread now. THat's my mistake for jumping into the fray without checking the waters.

To sum up: It gains a dial (but that dial is not "revealed" as in it cannot be tokenized), but the command dial that you DO reveal initially CAN be tokenized.

Does this mean that if I reveal a Concentrated Fire, and Thrawn in a Concentrated fire, I can tokenize the first concentrated fire, then resolve the thrawn'd dial and the brand-new token as a consolidated Concentrated Fire command?

1 minute ago, FoaS said:

Yeah, I just caught this earlier in the thread now. THat's my mistake for jumping into the fray without checking the waters.

To sum up: It gains a dial (but that dial is not "revealed" as in it cannot be tokenized), but the command dial that you DO reveal initially CAN be tokenized.

Does this mean that if I reveal a Concentrated Fire, and Thrawn in a Concentrated fire, I can tokenize the first concentrated fire, then resolve the thrawn'd dial and the brand-new token as a consolidated Concentrated Fire command?

yes/correct. And as always, all part of the same attack. Can't do shot 1 with dial and shot 2 with token.

So, you're saying that with proper preperation, foresight, and proper appraisal of the enemy, Thrawn allows for some pretty good flexibility or brute-force power... This is everything I could've hoped for from the great Thrawn.

2 minutes ago, FoaS said:

So, you're saying that with proper preperation, foresight, and proper appraisal of the enemy, Thrawn allows for some pretty good flexibility or brute-force power... This is everything I could've hoped for from the great Thrawn.

I know. Never playing another Imperial Admiral again.

Sorry.

Grand Admiral.

I hate to continue asking newbie questions, but can you resolve two different dials on the same go? Thrawn in a squadron command use it (and add in an existing squadron token, because why not) as well as perform a navigation dial that the ship itself revealed?

23 minutes ago, Rocmistro said:

yes/correct. And as always, all part of the same attack. Can't do shot 1 with dial and shot 2 with token.

So I have to use both the dial and the token in the same arc. I can't use the dial on one arc and the token on another?

1 minute ago, Norell said:

So I have to use both the dial and the token in the same arc. I can't use the dial on one arc and the token on another?

Correct. That's the way it's always been. You can only resolve a given command once per ship activation. In the case of attacking, the command is triggered "when" attacking. Since different instances of attacking are different instances of the "when" condition, it would be resolving the order twice (which is illegal) to use the CF dial on one arc's attack and the CF token on another arc's attack.

Thrawn does nothing to change that.

13 minutes ago, FoaS said:

I hate to continue asking newbie questions, but can you resolve two different dials on the same go? Thrawn in a squadron command use it (and add in an existing squadron token, because why not) as well as perform a navigation dial that the ship itself revealed?

That is the stated intention of the Thrawn ability, yes.

12 minutes ago, FoaS said:

I hate to continue asking newbie questions, but can you resolve two different dials on the same go? Thrawn in a squadron command use it (and add in an existing squadron token, because why not) as well as perform a navigation dial that the ship itself revealed?

Yes. It would be like having two tokens and doing your squadron token, then your navigate token. But instead now both are dials.

5 hours ago, Darth Sanguis said:

swm29-grand-admiral-thrawn.png


So the obvious "if" with this card is, can you stack dials to double an effect.

IE

You discard the top dial from thrawn, it's a squadron command, then activate your ISD II with a squadron command, does that ISD activate 8 squadrons?

I get the impression that no would be the answer here, but I think this is something the rules gurus should duke it out over before I make a judgement.

No.

This is fairly straight forward.

You can only spend a command once per round.

When you do, you can:

Spend a token.

Spend a dial.

Spend a dial AND a token.

Nothing else possible.

18 minutes ago, Green Knight said:

No.

This is fairly straight forward.

You can only spend a command once per round.

When you do, you can:

Spend a token.

Spend a dial.

Spend a dial AND a token.

Nothing else possible.

Thanks GK!

Yeah, they've answered me a few times throughout the various threads about Thrawn. You guys are always so helpful over here in the rules forum!

Just now, Darth Sanguis said:

Thanks GK!

Yeah, they've answered me a few times throughout the various threads about Thrawn. You guys are always so helpful over here in the rules forum!

@Drasnighta can probably throw up something with references and such.

Me, I focus on working solutions and short presentations :D

I quick question:

Could I spend the Thrawn's dial to get a token?

I thought yes and I still do per the wording but I read an article where it was said you cannot (the article also said Cymoon had 8 dice :D ). I just want to be sure.

My logic is that it doesn't work as Pursuant (which allow you to resolve and order). Instead, you gain a dial and a dial can be spent for several purposes, like gaining a command token.

@JJs Juggernaut , please, enlight me.

On 25/08/2017 at 7:37 PM, JJs Juggernaut said:

I believe PT is correct. The Thrawn command, cannon be converted into a token (as it is not revealed, rather "gained"), but the regular command could be tokenized if they were the same, so in essence, it's very similar.

@ovinomanc3r

5 minutes ago, ovinomanc3r said:

I quick question:

Could I spend the Thrawn's dial to get a token?

I thought yes and I still do per the wording but I read an article where it was said you cannot (the article also said Cymoon had 8 dice :D ). I just want to be sure.

My logic is that it doesn't work as Pursuant (which allow you to resolve and order). Instead, you gain a dial and a dial can be spent for several purposes, like gaining a command token.

@JJs Juggernaut , please, enlight me.

This was already answered earlier in the thread. And it follows directly from the RRG.

In short, no you can't...

When you reveal a command dial, you get the option to:

  1. Gain that dial for later spending, or
  2. Spend that dial to gain a token instead.

You cannot convert a dial (regardless of how you got it) to a token later in the turn. And the dial received from Thrawn is gained , not revealed . So the necessary condition for tokenizing it is not met, the choice (blue or red) has already been made for you by Thrawn.

A little detail right there. Thanks!

7 hours ago, DiabloAzul said:

This was already answered earlier in the thread. And it follows directly from the RRG.

In short, no you can't...

When you reveal a command dial, you get the option to:

  1. Gain that dial for later spending, or
  2. Spend that dial to gain a token instead.

You cannot convert a dial (regardless of how you got it) to a token later in the turn. And the dial received from Thrawn is gained , not revealed . So the necessary condition for tokenizing it is not met, the choice (blue or red) has already been made for you by Thrawn.

I'm loving this color coding thing you're doing. Helps with emphasizing related elements.

For the most part I'm doing it to help myself lay out my reasoning in a structured way - glad it's useful for the reader too! :)

EDIT: Anyway, it was @Drasnighta 's idea, back during the RLB discussion.

Edited by DiabloAzul
14 hours ago, DiabloAzul said:

This was already answered earlier in the thread. And it follows directly from the RRG.

In short, no you can't...

When you reveal a command dial, you get the option to:

  1. Gain that dial for later spending, or
  2. Spend that dial to gain a token instead.

You cannot convert a dial (regardless of how you got it) to a token later in the turn. And the dial received from Thrawn is gained , not revealed . So the necessary condition for tokenizing it is not met, the choice (blue or red) has already been made for you by Thrawn.

Yes but you gain the dial BEFORE you activate. You reveal the dial WHEN you activate.

So Thorn gives every ship a dial BEFORE you activate it. WHEN you activate the ship you can REVEAL two dials and then decide on how you use it.

2 minutes ago, Vetnor said:

Yes but you gain the dial BEFORE you activate. You reveal the dial WHEN you activate.

So Thorn gives every ship a dial BEFORE you activate it. WHEN you activate the ship you can REVEAL two dials and then decide on how you use it.

You gain it before, indeed, but it does not go on your command stack - it goes directly next to your ship token, ready to be spent.

You only ever reveal the dial on top of your command stack, which you may either convert to a token or gain (i.e. put it next to your ship, together with Thrawn's dial).

On 8/25/2017 at 4:09 PM, Green Knight said:

You can only spend a command once per round.

When you do, you can:

Spend a token.

Spend a dial.

Spend a dial AND a token.

Nothing else possible.

I've seen this posted a lot on this thread, and I'm not sure this is 100% correct.

From my understanding, you can:

- Execute a command by

Spend a command dial

Spend command tokens

Spend a command dial AND command tokens

- Have any number of unspent command dials, regardless of type, on a single ship

You cannot:

- Execute the same type of command twice

- Have more than one of the same type of command token on a ship.

So, right now, this comes down to the exact same thing as what you are saying, but the distinction may be important in the future. For instance, if and when a card allows for you to retain a second command token of the same type. Both tokens could then be spend on the same turn, possibly with a command dial of the same type.

31 minutes ago, RobertDD said:

I've seen this posted a lot on this thread, and I'm not sure this is 100% correct.

From my understanding, you can:

- Execute a command by

Spend a command dial

Spend command tokens

Spend a command dial AND command tokens

- Have any number of unspent command dials, regardless of type, on a single ship

You cannot:

- Execute the same type of command twice

- Have more than one of the same type of command token on a ship.

So, right now, this comes down to the exact same thing as what you are saying, but the distinction may be important in the future. For instance, if and when a card allows for you to retain a second command token of the same type. Both tokens could then be spend on the same turn, possibly with a command dial of the same type.

What @Green Knight posted is 100% correct. As far the only mistake I see is he said "spend a command" instead of "resolve a command".

But he was talking about what you can do RESOLVING the command. He didn't care about what you can do instead of resolving the command. Basically: what you added is completely irrelevant to the question he was answering.

Edited by ovinomanc3r