Thrawn I guess I'll start

By Darth Sanguis, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

I'm not convinced that the rules as they are written, forbid me from resolving two command dials of the same type. I can't resolve the same command twice, no, but I can resolve a dial and a token as a single command. There's no reason I can't resolve two dials and a token as a single command, either. Same as with Leia; no reason we can't resolve two tokens together.

I'll grant that it would be broken as all get out, and I hope they rule against it, but I'm not aware that it's actually against the rules.

Command dont stack, it means for that turn all your ships can do two command at once (which is ridiculously amazing for his price). Its even more interesting now that we get alternative star destroyers, with black dices power and fleet commands. Meaning Star Destroyers are now the Can do everything possible its meant to be. It goes fast, turns well, shoot strong, hard to kill, has good squadron, good engineer, can shoot any kind of guns, fleet commands. Thrawn is just using that fact well. But theres many ships that might want to use Thrawn, imagine ships you want to spam navigate on like Gladiator, ok well when you are ready to shoot, just not have both navigation and focus fire. You want squadrons, but dont want to waste all your commands on them without having rogues that cost so much, NP do all normally and have Thrawn activate the squadrons.

3 minutes ago, JgzMan said:

I'm not convinced that the rules as they are written, forbid me from resolving two command dials of the same type. I can't resolve the same command twice, no, but I can resolve a dial and a token as a single command. There's no reason I can't resolve two dials and a token as a single command, either. Same as with Leia; no reason we can't resolve two tokens together.

I'll grant that it would be broken as all get out, and I hope they rule against it, but I'm not aware that it's actually against the rules.

This is actually the conclusion I reached as well.

1 minute ago, mintek917 said:

Command dont stack

Are you sure? Squadron dial: activate X squadrons. Squadron token: activate 1 squadrons. Squadron dial + token: activate X+1 squadrons.

Either a dial or a token alone is a command. Together, they are still just one command, and they seem to stack just fine.

10 minutes ago, JgzMan said:

I'm not convinced that the rules as they are written, forbid me from resolving two command dials of the same type. I can't resolve the same command twice, no, but I can resolve a dial and a token as a single command. There's no reason I can't resolve two dials and a token as a single command, either. Same as with Leia; no reason we can't resolve two tokens together.

I'll grant that it would be broken as all get out, and I hope they rule against it, but I'm not aware that it's actually against the rules.

They don't necessarily Forbid you

But they don't necessarily allow you, either.

Which leads us to this slippery slope:

rulebook.png

1 minute ago, Rocmistro said:

This is actually the conclusion I reached as well.

I dont see them ever allowing them to stack, they didnt allow token to stack with Leia. You dont want to see 12 engineer or 10 squadron ships.

10 minutes ago, JgzMan said:

I'm not convinced that the rules as they are written, forbid me from resolving two command dials of the same type. I can't resolve the same command twice, no, but I can resolve a dial and a token as a single command. There's no reason I can't resolve two dials and a token as a single command, either. Same as with Leia; no reason we can't resolve two tokens together.

I'll grant that it would be broken as all get out, and I hope they rule against it, but I'm not aware that it's actually against the rules.

My thinking as well, which means a Quasar with a token and hangar bays can activate ten squadrons, all with flight controllers. ?

To Whit: That is the way that Leia could not stack tokens.

Permissively, there are 3 ways to execute a command. a Dial, a Token, or a Dial+Token.

Leia only triggered when a Dial was spent. (not when a Dial + Token was spent).

Its explicit and exclusive.

So there is no stacking there.

As long as there is no listed way to resove a single command that is a Dial + a Dial (We're only told how to resolve a Dial + Token in combination), then we will be forbidden from stacking two identical dials under the single execution of a command rule

1 minute ago, JgzMan said:

Are you sure? Squadron dial: activate X squadrons. Squadron token: activate 1 squadrons. Squadron dial + token: activate X+1 squadrons.

Either a dial or a token alone is a command. Together, they are still just one command, and they seem to stack just fine.

They forbade Leia from doing two tokens. That should exactly tell you why this is not happening. Tokens are made to stack with commands if you want them to. You cant stack two tokens, you arent gona be able to stack two commands either. Its not even Thrwans theme to do more powerful things, hes about being strategic, aka he can do two things at once. Hence you can focus fire and navitage on the same turn, with a token in there too.

I get the feeling he is more of a safety valve. He's like a skilled first officer for every ship. Just my two cents until we get an official ruling.

@JJs Juggernaut .....clarification?

Just now, Drasnighta said:

Which leads us to this slippery slope:

Certainly true. I have fond memories of the "debate" on whether or not you can deploy your ships stacked on top of each other.

But until they call it, one way or the other, I'm not prepared to call it either way. I HOPE they call it that we can't. But I don't see a strict rules justification for it.

2 minutes ago, mintek917 said:

I dont see them ever allowing them to stack, they didnt allow token to stack with Leia. You dont want to see 12 engineer or 10 squadron ships.

Do we have that in writing? If they called it for tokens, I will consider it functionally the same for dials.

And you're right, I don't want to see 10-squadron ships. But what I want isn't in question.

3 minutes ago, ImpStarDeuces said:

I get the feeling he is more of a safety valve. He's like a skilled first officer for every ship. Just my two cents until we get an official ruling.

It would mention that you have to do something to your command stacks. It just says it gives it to you, also remember it would mean you have to add one to all your ships for that turn on top of the command stacks. Its worded more like you are given it period, not replacing anything. Think of him more of a 3 turn only more powerful of Tarkin and Leia.

Edited by mintek917
3 minutes ago, ImpStarDeuces said:

I get the feeling he is more of a safety valve. He's like a skilled first officer for every ship. Just my two cents until we get an official ruling.

I really hope not.... Thrawn being equal to no more than 8 of a 1 point officer seems a little... under powered

Just now, mintek917 said:

It would mention that you have to do something to your command stacks. It just says it gives it to you, also remember it would mean you have to add one to all your ships for that turn on top of the command stacks. Its worded more like you are given it period, not replacing anything.

I can see that. I was just pointing out the precedence on effects. Often Admirals tend to mimic the officer cards but on a larger scale. I wouldn't be surprised the ruling come down on Thrawn the same way.

Just now, JgzMan said:

Certainly true. I have fond memories of the "debate" on whether or not you can deploy your ships stacked on top of each other.

But until they call it, one way or the other, I'm not prepared to call it either way. I HOPE they call it that we can't. But I don't see a strict rules justification for it.

Do we have that in writing? If they called it for tokens, I will consider it functionally the same for dials.

And you're right, I don't want to see 10-squadron ships. But what I want isn't in question.

They havn't, because the advice was as such:

DIAL
TOKEN
DIAL+TOKEN

CHOOSE ONE FOR YOUR COMMAND.

Leia explicitly only Tiggers when you execute a command that was DIAL. (because that's what her card says)

(Not Contains a Dial, which would allow DIAL+TOKEN. Only DIAL)

So if you execute the command with a Dial + Token, you get Dial + Token effect.

But if you execute the command with a Dial only, you also get the Dial + Token effect.

1 minute ago, Drasnighta said:

They havn't, because the advice was as such:

DIAL
TOKEN
DIAL+TOKEN

CHOOSE ONE FOR YOUR COMMAND.

So, they never made a rule that you can't activate two tokens of the same type, they just ruled that Dial+token does not trigger Leia? I don't like that ruling at all. Is that official from FFG, or is it community consensus?

Does that mean that if I spend dial+token, I can't use Wulff Yularen to recover the token? Or am I misinterpreting something?

To be honest the empire needed a command oriented admiral to fix how *** Tarkin was for the cost. So now the empire has overall 5 great to amazing admirals, that have different effect on things of the game. Thrwan is great for multi command, Ozzel the best for movement, Motti best at being good anywhere for a penny, JerJer best movement on bad ships, Sloane as the only pure squadron admiral.

3 minutes ago, JgzMan said:

So, they never made a rule that you can't activate two tokens of the same type, they just ruled that Dial+token does not trigger Leia? I don't like that ruling at all. Is that official from FFG, or is it community consensus?

Does that mean that if I spend dial+token, I can't use Wulff Yularen to recover the token? Or am I misinterpreting something?

No, it doesn't mean that at all.

Resolving a Command is different to spending a Token.

The only trigger for Wulff is spending a Token. It doens't care how or why you spend a command token - IE, Wulff will trigger if you spend a token on something other than a command, such as an upcoming fleet command or for Boarding Teams...

Whereas the trigger for Leia is specifically using a Dial to resolve a Command.

EDIT:

Partially Consensus. Partially discussion with Michael Gernes.

That makes it as official it can be without being in an FAQ, which isn't being updated soon.

Edited by Drasnighta
5 minutes ago, JgzMan said:

So, they never made a rule that you can't activate two tokens of the same type, they just ruled that Dial+token does not trigger Leia? I don't like that ruling at all. Is that official from FFG, or is it community consensus?

Does that mean that if I spend dial+token, I can't use Wulff Yularen to recover the token? Or am I misinterpreting something?

No it means when you do commands, theres only 3 type of commands you can do. Token alone, Dial alone, Dial+token. Theres no double token or double dial. Leia doesent give you a token, it makes a fake one, so if the rebel had wulff, it would indeed not work. If you do a regular Dial+token, Wulff still keeps the token. Because wulff gives you back token that you spend, what ever the reason.

Edited by mintek917
24 minutes ago, JgzMan said:

I'm not convinced that the rules as they are written, forbid me from resolving two command dials of the same type. I can't resolve the same command twice, no, but I can resolve a dial and a token as a single command. There's no reason I can't resolve two dials and a token as a single command, either. Same as with Leia; no reason we can't resolve two tokens together.

I'll grant that it would be broken as all get out, and I hope they rule against it, but I'm not aware that it's actually against the rules.

Rules state on page 3 that you can combine dial and token. I don't know where they state that you can combine 2 dials.

I'm not saying ffg can't rule that for this card, but currently, there is no rule explicitly allowing such a combination.

1 minute ago, Reiryc said:

Rules state on page 3 that you can combine dial and token. I don't know where they state that you can combine 2 dials.

I'm not saying ffg can't rule that for this card, but currently, there is no rule explicitly allowing such a combination.

There wont be any, Leia is not allow to make double token effect either. Shes just allowed to have the token effect without you having one. Thrwan simply means youll be able to have two command dial for all your fleet ships 3 turn in the game.

Edited by mintek917

So, we figured some clarification would be needed, but there wasn't space for the condition (cannot resolve the same dial twice) on the card. As Dras has pointed out, currently the rules do NOT support dial+dial, and we figured people would figure that out without the conditional. It also plays into the theme of Thrawn. You have to set these commands at the beginning of the game, and so when setting commands for your ships during the game you need to be thinking what Thrawn command you want to use on what turns to maximize his effect!

3 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

Whereas the trigger for Leia is specifically using a Dial to resolve a Command.

Ok, I looked up the exact wording on Leia. The two situations are not comparable, as you describe, and I like the ruling a lot more, now.

Thanks, mate.

3 minutes ago, mintek917 said:

No it means when you do commands, theres only 3 type of commands you can do. Token alone, Dial alone, Dial+token.

At the time it was written, these were the only three options POSSIBLE. That doesn't mean they are the only types

4 minutes ago, mintek917 said:

Leia doesent give you a token, it makes a fake one, so if the rebel had wulff, it would indeed not work.

True, but irrelevant to my point. Of course, my point is also irrelevant, as I wasn't remembering Leia properly.

1 minute ago, JJs Juggernaut said:

So, we figured some clarification would be needed, but there wasn't space for the condition (cannot resolve the same dial twice) on the card. As Dras has pointed out, currently the rules do NOT support dial+dial, and we figured people would figure that out without the conditional. It also plays into the theme of Thrawn. You have to set these commands at the beginning of the game, and so when setting commands for your ships during the game you need to be thinking what Thrawn command you want to use on what turns to maximize his effect!

This is your answer guys. /thread. Discussion over.