Thrawn I guess I'll start

By Darth Sanguis, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

swm29-grand-admiral-thrawn.png


So the obvious "if" with this card is, can you stack dials to double an effect.

IE

You discard the top dial from thrawn, it's a squadron command, then activate your ISD II with a squadron command, does that ISD activate 8 squadrons?

I get the impression that no would be the answer here, but I think this is something the rules gurus should duke it out over before I make a judgement.

I'm guessing no, because you're still bound by the "only execute a command once thing".

Also...and maybe I'm really reading into this...do the Thrawn dials have to be stacked on top of each other like a normal command sequence? The wording strongly suggests you do not stack them.

2 minutes ago, Rocmistro said:

I'm guessing no, because you're still bound by the "only execute a command once thing".

Also...and maybe I'm really reading into this...do the Thrawn dials have to be stacked on top of each other like a normal command sequence? The wording strongly suggests you do not stack them.

Good point, as written I don't think they need to be stacked. Even more felxibility.... Thrawn is gonna make ISDs king again... Even the old ISD cards... Imagine not having to bring a dedicated squad pusher because thrawn lets you confire and alpha with your squads...

Hnnnnngggg

Edited by Darth Sanguis

In fact, given that the wording says "you may reveal and discard 1 of those dials" NOT "reveal and discard the top dial", I'm sure of it. Holy crap, he's going to be awesome. You don't have to reveal them sequentially.

It says you place 3 dials, not a stack of 3 dials. So they're 3 individual dials.

On the strict wording - there's no real indication.

We've got no indication on what gaining an additional dial actually does at the moment... On the face of it, I'd say you'd be placing the Dial on the top of the Stack that already exists there, effectively setting a new, additional dial that would be revealed first...

Of course, the intention may be that you now have two dials to choose from (ie, the original stack, and a new stack of 1).

The intention may also be to reveal two dials... But that's also going to be effing crazy to resolve in rules, sequence and effect.

..

I'm going to muse on this some more.

Yeah, page 4 of Armade Reference PDF: "A ship cannot resolve the same command more than once per round" and then, after that "A ship can spend both a command dial and a command token to combine their affect". Note, that it does not say "A ship can spend two or more command dials to combine their affect"

2 minutes ago, Rocmistro said:

Yeah, page 4 of Armade Reference PDF: "A ship cannot resolve the same command more than once per round" and then, after that "A ship can spend both a command dial and a command token to combine their affect". Note, that it does not say "A ship can spend two or more command dials to combine their affect"

Yep, and if there's an accepted precedence that a ship can resolve two dials as a function of core rules....

... well...

That means we'd have to allow Leia to stack Dial+Token+Token, too

4 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

The intention may also be to reveal two dials... But that's also going to be effing crazy to resolve in rules, sequence and effect.

not so secretly hoping for this. lol

he CANNOT, received information from people who tested...

Just now, Darth Sanguis said:

not so secretly hoping for this. lol

Its... frankly a ludicrous ability. Not to say that I don't also believe if anyone's going to have that sort of ability, its Thrawn... But like a Stacking Leia, it essentially starts to push to invalidate any other Admiral in its strength of ability. That itself makes me very wary of even mentioning the very slim possibility.

6 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

We've got no indication on what gaining an additional dial actually does at the moment... On the face of it, I'd say you'd be placing the Dial on the top of the Stack that already exists there, effectively setting a new, additional dial that would be revealed first...

Of course, the intention may be that you now have two dials to choose from (ie, the original stack, and a new stack of 1).

The intention may also be to reveal two dials... But that's also going to be effing crazy to resolve in rules, sequence and effect.

Why do you think it would do anything other than what revealing a command dial normally does? (I'm not taunting you here, just...I don't see anything but the obvious). You are allowed to, per my cited reference above, execute more than one command when you activate a ship. The only oddity here, is, up until this point (at least I think), there's never been a way to get more than 1 command dial of command execution; the only way to resolve multiple commands was via dial+token(s). This doesn't change anything, and it is not directly countered by the core rules.

The "ship" does not reveal the dial (Thrawn's dial). It doesn't even get revealed in each (or any) ship's activation phase. It happens at the beginning of the Ship Phase and affects all friendly ships. Thus, I'd say that Thrawn's dial is a "bonus" dial that, effectivley, comes out of thin air.

2 minutes ago, Visovics said:

he CANNOT, received information from people who tested...

Q BRO DETECTED!!!!

No question about it: ships get to to spend two dials that turn. "Gain 1 additional [matching] dial" is definitely not the same as "place 1 [matching] dial on top of its command stack".

And if your "extra" dial matches your regular one? Well, you turn one of them into a token. Or spend it on, say, a boarding action (which does not count as resolving that command).

Just now, Rocmistro said:

Q BRO DETECTED!!!!

it was @Truthiness by the way, shoutouts to the true hero

Just now, Rocmistro said:

Why do you think it would do anything other than what revealing a command dial normally does? (I'm not taunting you here, just...I don't see anything but the obvious). You are allowed to, per my cited reference above, execute more than one command when you activate a ship. The only oddity here, is, up until this point (at least I think), there's never been a way to get more than 1 command dial of command execution; the only way to resolve multiple commands was via dial+token(s). This doesn't change anything, and it is not directly countered by the core rules.

The "ship" does not reveal the dial (Thrawn's dial). It doesn't even get revealed in each (or any) ship's activation phase. It happens at the beginning of the Ship Phase and affects all friendly ships. Thus, I'd say that Thrawn's dial is a "bonus" dial that, effectivley, comes out of thin air.

Because what if you assign Two Squadron dials?

I'm guessing its because You cannot resolve the same Command Twice...

So do you have to be careful to not put the same dial on there?

Just now, Drasnighta said:

So do you have to be careful to not put the same dial on there?

Not really. Plenty of stuff you can do with it anyway.

Besides, I bet there will be new ways of spending dials - in this wave or next.

Yeah, I'm guessing at it, too... You just have to be careful to not stack the same command, because you can't resolve both Commands at once...

But you would be ableto to the other certain things - changing to totkens, etc.

But no "Double Commands"

Only "Two Commands"

I'm more sold.

I'm also never taking anyone but Thrawn when I play Imps, too.

3 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

Its... frankly a ludicrous ability. Not to say that I don't also believe if anyone's going to have that sort of ability, its Thrawn... But like a Stacking Leia, it essentially starts to push to invalidate any other Admiral in its strength of ability. That itself makes me very wary of even mentioning the very slim possibility.

TBH I was on the "let Leia's ability stack with token" boat anyways lol

1 minute ago, Drasnighta said:

I'm also never taking anyone but Thrawn when I play Imps, too.

I mean... he's Thrawn.... who else would you want to take?

5 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

Because what if you assign Two Squadron dials?

I'm guessing its because You cannot resolve the same Command Twice...

So do you have to be careful to not put the same dial on there?

So...let me see if I understand your question.

It's turn 2. Thrawn has a Squadron, Concentrate fire and Engineering dial on his card (NOT stacked).

There are 3 ships in play; a Victory with a nav command set, a Gozanti with a squadron command and a Raider with a conc fire command.

At beginning of ship phase, Thrawn flips his Squadron command.

-The victory now gets a nav dial (which it uses), and squadron dial (which it decides to taken a token on, because it doesn't need the dial)

-The gozanti gets a squadron dial (which it uses). It also already had a squad token banked from turn 1, so Thrawn is effectivley wasted for him that turn.

-The raider gets a conc fire dial (which it uses), and a squaddron dial (which it uses) and combines it with it's Turn 1 squad command token to activate 2 tie sticks.

I think this is how it would work, yes?

Edited by Rocmistro

Its more the problem is I'm not going to be the only one... I doubt anyone's going to be different... So there will be nothing but Thrawns.

3 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

Its more the problem is I'm not going to be the only one... I doubt anyone's going to be different... So there will be nothing but Thrawns.

Nah... I'm sure he'll be huge for a long time, but I also still see the merits of several others... screed and motti as well as sloane all ring a particular bell. JJ and Vader too.... really, honestly, I only see him replacing Tarkin in the long run....

Edited by Darth Sanguis
17 minutes ago, Drasnighta said:

Its... frankly a ludicrous ability. Not to say that I don't also believe if anyone's going to have that sort of ability, its Thrawn... But like a Stacking Leia, it essentially starts to push to invalidate any other Admiral in its strength of ability. That itself makes me very wary of even mentioning the very slim possibility.


And FFG ruled the most extreme

, most powerful ruling for Sloane at Gencon (that the token is spent, the defender doesn't get the result, and the defender can't spend that defense token themselves). So I wouldn't be surprised if they just ended up ruling Thrawn's fleet can double-dial the same command, lol.

The Sloane ruling is at least supported in status by the Rules as Written though (the arguments against that rely on assumptions, rather than rules).

Whereas Thrawn (and Leia) with command stacking isn't supported.

Just now, Drasnighta said:

Whereas Thrawn (and Leia) with command stacking isn't supported.

Did we ever get a ruling on this, through context I'd say no but I haven't paid much attention to Leia