Thrawn I guess I'll start

By Darth Sanguis, in Star Wars: Armada Rules Questions

14 hours ago, ShoutingMan said:

Yes, I declared what / how I was doing during the reveal command step. We took a minute to discuss if it was reasonable, and felt it was probably ok.

Yup, I had no problem with it. It all made sense and seemed logical and legal to me....even though I lost the match. LOL

Well, this one's been cleared up.

Q: Do abilities or card effects that resolve when a ship reveals its command dial resolve when a command dial placed on an upgrade card equipped to that ship is revealed?

A: No. Effects that resolve when a ship reveals its command dial only resolve when a ship reveals a command dial from the stack assigned to its ship card as part of its activation.

And, against all odds:

Grand Admiral Thrawn

When a friendly ship gains a command dial as part of Grand Admiral Thrawn’s effect, that ship can spend that dial to gain a matching command token.

Yep. Unexpected, but that’s how it is done some times.