"most" tiebreakers?

By MrBody, in Chaos in the Old World

Dispute came up on old world cards calling for the "most" something.


First the peasant victory point one. 2 players had one peasant each so there was no "most" and no one got the 3 extra points.

Then the Teclis Aids the Empire came up. "Moves to the region with the most corruption tokens". (First all does warpstone count for this purpose?). Two regions were tied for most corruption and the question came up of what to do. Event token does not move? Lowest threat player chooses between the two? Randomly roll to move to one of the tied regions?

We were going to go with lowest threat player chooses, but one person pointed out that if nothing happens on the peasant card when there is no "most", then the same should apply to Teclis and the event token does not move.

Don't have the rules with me, but I believe the "region" tie would be resolved in the same way ruinations are resolved: in region order, following the arrows.

TK

Don't have the rules with me, but I believe the "region" tie would be resolved in the same way ruinations are resolved: in region order, following the arrows.

TK

In the peasant victory case, I'd agree that no-one scores the bonus points.

For Teclis, I'd say he doesn't move - but any of those interpretations would be fine

Would warpstone count for placing the Teclis event token or is it just player corruption?

GrooveChamp said:

Would warpstone count for placing the Teclis event token or is it just player corruption?

Well, the rules say warpstone counts as an unaligned corruption token. So yes, count the warpstone

Rules as written: the Warpstone does not count as corruption when calculating where Teclis goes. It only counts a corruption marker in the corruption step of the corruption phase.

Rules as understood: Teclis goes to the first map location with the most corruption (if there are ties), fllowing the normal region order.

Technically, moving Teclis is an activity, so it can be reasonably ruled to fall under the rule from page 25 that "when some activity [...] must be carried out in multiple regions at the same time, these activities are always carried out region by region, in the [region] order". But the actual activity in question (the one that must be carried out in multiple regions at once) is determining which region has most corruption counters, and that involves all the regions simultaneously. Moving Teclis itself is meant to only involve one region, and that's where the uncertainty comes from.

So while I see an argument that Teclis should probably go to the first region in region order that is tied for most corruption tokens, I don't think the rules themselves strictly say so.

Or am I mistaken?

Maybe the player with the lowest thread may move Teclis to one of the tied regions with the 'most' corruption?

That makes more sense, yeah.

I'll submit a rules question with the three viable alternatives (no movement, region order, lowest threat).

Thank you very much. :)

CitOW is ripe for a renewed FAQ anyway.

There was a new one just a week ago :P Most situations seem pretty clear to me, although of course there's always room for improvement.

The FAQ in this forum is from '9/10/09'... where can I find this new FAQ you're talking about? :)

rashktah said:

Maybe the player with the lowest threat may move Teclis to one of the tied regions with the 'most' corruption?

I just got an official answer to my rules question, and indeed the question where Teclis will go is considered a decision while resolving an Old World card, and thus to be made by the player with the lowest threat.

haslo said:

rashktah said:

Maybe the player with the lowest threat may move Teclis to one of the tied regions with the 'most' corruption?

I just got an official answer to my rules question, and indeed the question where Teclis will go is considered a decision while resolving an Old World card, and thus to be made by the player with the lowest threat.

The disputing player argued that if we did that, then the same should apply to the peasant card and the lowest threat player should be able to decide which of the tied players got the 3 extra victory points.

I guess technically he was right, but it just seemed common sense that no one got the extra 3 points while the Teclis event token HAD to move since that was its entire purpose.